Skip to main content

HIST 472/572 History of Alabama

Alabama online sources

Encyclopedia of Alabama 
The Encyclopedia of Alabama's mission is to present trustworthy and authoritative information on a wide range of topics. EOA is a collaborative effort involving many individuals and organizations and offers articles written or adapted specifically for it, and new content is added to the site regularly. Our authors come from all areas of scholarship and range from scholars at academic institutions to scientists out in the field. 

Equal Justice Initiative
The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.

Alabama Mosiac
AlabamaMosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible to Alabama residents and to students, researchers, and the general public in other states and countries.

Alabama Department of Archives and History 
Located in Montgomery, ADAH identifies, preserves, and makes accessible records and artifacts of enduring historical value to the state and serves as the official repository for records created by state agencies.

The University of Alabama Libraries. W.S. Hoole Special Collections 
The mission of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library is to acquire, preserve, and make available permanent collections of rare and unique research resources for the use of faculty, graduate, and undergraduate students of the University of Alabama as well as others. 

Auburn University Libraries.  Digital Library 
The Auburn University Digital Library is a specialized unit of the Auburn University Libraries. Its purpose is to develop accessible digital collections of materials that support the teaching and research of Auburn faculty and students, and that, in turn, further the mission of Auburn University. Of special interest is the Eugene B. Sledge Collection.  Dr. Sledge taught at the University of Montevallo for 28 years.  

Specialized Topics : Use Milner Archives

A Study of Mob action in the South
Dissertation by Dr. John Roy Steelman, 1928 . Professor Sociology,  Taught at Alabama College now University of Montevallo,

Charles Edmundson, “"Tuscaloosa's 'Hysteria' Is Apt To Stigmatize City, Professor Thinks",” Archiving Montevallo, accessed January 23, 2019, http://carmichaeldigitalprojects.org/archivingmontevallo/items/show/1. 

Finding It First : The almost lost John R. Steelman dissertation