Skip to main content

Anna Crawford Milner Archives and Special Collections

Internships

The University Archives and Special Collections employs interns on first come, first served basis. Internships registration and approval is handled by Dr. Ruth Truss, Professor of History. If interested, please contact Dr. Truss at trussr@montevallo.edu  or 665-6188. 

Scope and Content

The scope and content of our collections are based around the University's mission. Beginning as an industrial school for girls, transforming into a traditional four-year college for women, and becoming Alabama's state mandated, co-educational public liberal arts college.

Policies

Only members of the library faculty and staff are permitted in the archives room; anyone else needing access to archival materials must make arrangements with the Archivist.

 

Patrons must check in with the Archivist and a leave university id or current, valid driver's licenses.

 

Archives and Special Collections are noncirculating and must not leave the building.

 

When using these resources, researchers are allowed to use looseleaf paper, pencil, laptop, and digital camera. Absolutely no inkpens, bags, drinks, or food permitted. In addition, viewing of these primary sources must take place under the direct supervision of the Archivist or other library personnel.

Archives personnel will make any needed copies or scans for a small fee (usually the same rate as making 'normal' copies). As copiers damage archival materials, individuals are not permitted to make copies.