Skip to main content

Education : ED 512 Reading and Writing in the Secondary Content Areas

Resources, information, and news for the education profession

Google News: Textbook Adoption

Loading ...

Lexis-Nexis

Lexis-Nexis searches the full text of hundreds of newspapers in the United States and Canada.  You may find articles related to textbook controversies in this database.

Guide to Assignment

Introduction to Textbook Adoption

Textbook Adoption Websites

 

Alabama Textbook Adoption Process
The state textbook office administers the state textbook law, which provides for the review and adoption of textbooks at the state and local level. The law also provides regulations for individual school systems regarding the local adoption, purchase, use, and inventory of textbooks. Primary to the state process is working with the state textbook committee during the review of textbooks and presenting recommendations to the State Board of Education for adoption or rejection. The state textbook office also provides assistance to local school systems in complying with the provisions of the textbook law. For information about the Alabama State Textbook program such as state-adopted lists, rejected textbooks, local adoption forms, adoption schedules, new adoptions, publisher lists, local textbook supervisors, and other information, contact Karen Benefield at karenb@alsde.edu.

Alabama Department of Education : Classroom Improvement Publications
Information includes textbook adoptions, courses of study, and evaluation forms for courses of study

Alabama City and County Textbook Supervisors (list)

Search Code of Alabama

Texas Education Agency
Textbook review and policies for the state of Texas

Public Schools of North Carolina Textbook Adoption Services


Sample Search Terms

Art

Search Examples: Textbooks, Textbooks censorship Art Full Text

English/Language Arts

Search Example: Language Arts and textbooks

History/Social Sciences

Search Example: History and Textbooks,Social Sciences and textbooks America History and Life

Biology/General Science

ERIC: evolution and textbooks, science instruction and textbooks

Family & Consumer Science

ERIC home economics and textbooks health education and textbooks consumer education and textbooks family life education and textbooks

Kinesiology

Search Example: textbooks SportsDiscus

Math

ERIC and Education Full Text Mathematics

Search in EBSCO Host Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier

Gale General OneFile

Gale General OneFile is a great source for popular press and scholarly sources on a variety of subjects. Your general search results will even turn up recent podcast episodes.