Skip to main content

Education : EDL 606 Leadership and Mentor Training

Resources, information, and news for the education profession

Subjects

Subjects and descriptors are ways to quickly search for items within a particular idea. All book and articles records incorporate this controlled language to  better faciliate research. While search through records, notice that subjects/descriptors are hyperlinked. Simply click on this link and the engine will return all materials with the same subject. While subjects and descriptors are essentially the same thing, library catalogs use subject headings, while most databases (where scholarly articles are located) use the term descriptor. Here are some to start your search with:

  • Education (Broad topic)
  • Teaching (Broad topic)
  • Educational leadership (Broad topic)
  • School Supervision
  • Curriculum change
  • Observation (Educational Method)
  • Teachers' workshops (Narrow topic)
  • Teachers -- In service training (Narrow topic)
  • Teachers -- Training of (Narrow topic)
  • Teacher effectiveness (Narrow topic)
  • Mentors in Education (Narrow topic)

Citations

The "Citing Sources" tab, above, contains links guiding you to helpful citation tools and resources. Please direct citation questions to Dr. Sumbry.    

Finding Books at the Carmichael Library

Use this search bar to find books in the library.  You can also visit the library homepagefor more detailed search capabilities.

Carmichael Library Home  Search for Books in the Carmichael Catalog

   

Below are some examples of books located at Carmichael Library. These titles were found using subject headings like the ones on the left side of this page.

A handbook for teacher leaders

The fifth discipline: The art and practice of the learning organization

Mentoring programs for new teachers

Databases

Here is a partial list of our Education databases. Here, use the descriptors mentioned on the left side of this page. For a full list of database selections, see the 'Journals/ERIC' tab above. 

ERIC (EBSCOhost search) ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Most of these journals are indexed comprehensively - that is, a record for every article in each issue is included in ERIC.

ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences search) Same content, different search interface. 

Professional Collection A custom database of more than 300 full-text journals for educators, covering the areas of arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences and sports/athletic training

Professional Development Collection Designed for professional educators. Includes full text for more than 550 education and library science journals. This database also provides full text for 167 education pamphlets and scholarly monographs.


Periodicals in Counseling, Leadership, and Foundations *

American Educational Research Journal
American Journal of Education
College Student Affairs Journal
Comparative Education Review
Educational and Psychological Measurement {microfiche only}
Educational Measurement: Issues and Practice
Educational Studies: A Journal of the American Educational Studies Association
Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities {microfiche only}
Journal for Specialists in Group Work
Journal of Adolescence
Journal of Drug Education
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Journal of School Psychology
Journal of School Public Relations
NACE Journal
Newsleader
Principal
Principal Leadership: High School Edition
Research in the Schools
School Administrator
School Law Reporter

*Unless otherwise noted, the most recent issues of these titles will be located in the Unbound Periodicals collection on the first floor (green shelf with orange folders).

Reference Materials in Print

(this collection is located on the first floor behind the Ask Here desk)

Reference materials include dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and indexes. They are good starting points in the research process.
Print reference materials are available on the Main Level of the Library in the Reference Department. You can often locate reference materials appropriate for you topic by browsing the call numbers starting with L and by using limiters in the advanced search that narrow your search to the Library's Reference Collection. Here is a list of reference materials that may be of use to you,

Handbook of Research on Teacher Education (Ref. LB 1715 .H274 1996)


Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration--2 volumes (Ref. LB 2805 .E527 2006)


Handbook for Research for Educational Communications and Technology (Ref. LB 1028.3 .H355 1996)


Handbook of Educational Psychology (Ref. LB 1051 .H2354 1996)


Educational Research, Methodology, and Measurement: an international handbook (Ref. LB 1028 .E3154 1997)


Philosophy of Education: an encyclopedia (Ref. LB 17 .P485 1996)

Education Librarian

Electronic Holdings of Print Journals

Many of Carmichael Library's print journals can be found in our database holdings. Simple search the print journal title using this screen to see which databases contain full text access. 

Purpose

The purpose of this class page is to pull together resources and advice pertaining to EDL606's subject matter and to supplement the larger Education Guide. Many of the print materials referenced here can be found online, via Carmichael Library's database subscriptions, or at other academic institutions. As Montevallo students, each of you have access to our online tools. You must click through the library's website and, when prompted, enter your UM student ID number. As always, please feel free to contact me if you need research or access assistance. --Carey