Finding Academic and Popular Articles for Project 3
If you're an ENG 101 student working on Project 3, this may help!
Here's a quick look at how to search Academic Search Premier for the academic (scholarly) and popular (magazines or newspapers) sources that you need to complete your research for Project 3.
The video is part of a longer tutorial about how to approach your research for Project 3 (click the purple "Need Help with Project 3?" button on the far left of your screen) but is also viewable here for easier access.
Good luck! If you still have questions after viewing the tutorial and this video, the Carmichael Librarians are here to help you.
Sources for Local News
- Alabama News Sources This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.I Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
Recommended Databases: Other
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new windowWith more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial
Recommended Databases: General
The Complete A-Z of databases can be found here.
A list of databases by Subject is available as a drop-down menu on the page with the A-Z list.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage of 270 topics with overviews, point and counterpoint essays, and Critical Thinking Guides for further research.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection containing thousands of educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content comes from quality publishers like PBS, Meridian, Cambridge Educational, the BBC, National Geographic and more. UM community members have access to over 40,000 titles. Many of the titles are closed captioned.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to the cross-searchable full text of approximately 700 different reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, chronologies, etc.).
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Recommended Databases: English and Literature
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It contains over 3 million citations related to literature and literary criticism, from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
- Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection is an interdisciplinary collection of nearly 350 high quality, peer reviewed journals concentrated in the humanities and social sciences. | Watch Video Tutorial
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Recommended Databases: Historical Context
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowFull text from more than 650 history reference books and encyclopedias, cover to cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies and 12,000 historical photos, maps and other images.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
