Assignment
Know that Word!
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. | Watch Video Tutorial - Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows cross-searching of prestigious reference works published by Oxford University Press. | Watch Video Tutorial
Citation
- OWL (Purdue University)The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University is an invaluable resource when you have questions about different citations and writing styles.
Library has copy in the Reference Collection on 1st floor
Ref. PN 203 .G53 2016
ILL
- Interlibrary LoanUse Interlibrary Loan to find books we don't have at Carmichael Library.
Library Databases to consider for academic research
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It contains over 3 million citations related to literature and literary criticism, from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial - Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowPsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Evaluating News
Websites to help you evaluate fake or poorly reported news:
Politifact : The Pulitzer Prize-winning fact-checking site, famous for its trademarked "Truth-o-Meter."
Snopes.com : Snopes tracks down the truth about urban legends, gossip, and rumors on the internet.
SciCheck : Part of FactCheck.org, SciCheck focuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy. It was launched in January 2015 with a grant from the Stanton Foundation.
Tips and Tricks
Google Search Tips
To find only government sources, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.gov
Example:
Climate Change :.gov
To find only organizations, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.org
Example:
Climate change:.org
To find only sites created by schools and colleges and universities, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.edu
Example:
Climate change:.edu
Cover Story
- The Atlantic MagazineProvides insight and commentary on the latest social and political issues.
Moving images
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowA streaming video collection containing thousands of educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content comes from quality publishers like PBS, Meridian, Cambridge Educational, the BBC, National Geographic and more. UM community members have access to over 40,000 titles. Many of the titles are closed captioned.
- TED Talks on Language (and more)Video playlists about Language
Primary Sources
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender MonthThe Library of Congress seeks to acquire historic material and pursue the ongoing program of copyright deposits to enrich the Library’s holdings of LGBT materials.
For Help
Kathleen Lowe MLS
lowek@montevallo.edu
Office is in Carmichael Library 1st floor
