Timeline of Banned Books
Start Here First!
Watch this video for an introduction to the banned and challenged books resources on this page.
Print Resources
Welcome to the Literature for Children Research Guide
The Literature for Children Research Guide is designed to help you navigate sources in the library and online.
Pat Scales on Censorship
Pat Scales is the former chair of the American Library Association’s Intellectual Freedom Committee; she regularly blogs for School Library Journal about censorship and intellectual freedom issues. Below is a link to her School Library Journal contributions.
Finding your Sources
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
- Freedom to Read FoundationA non-profit legal and educational organization affiliated with the American Library Association. FTRF protects and defends the First Amendment to the Constitution and supports the right of libraries to collect - and individuals to access - information
- Journal of Intellectual Freedom and PrivacyThe official journal of the Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), an office of the American Library Association.
- National Coalition Against CensorshipNCAC's mission is to promote freedom of thought, inquiry and expression and oppose censorship in all its forms.
- New York Times Topics: CensorshipNews about Censorship, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
- Notable First Amendment Court CasesThis page contains summaries of frequently cited First Amendment cases. Arranged by topic, they cover case law issued by a variety of courts: the Supreme Court of the United States, the Court of Appeals of different Federal circuits, the District Court of several Federal districts, as well as the highest court of several states and particular appellate courts of action.
- Office for Intellectual FreedomOffice for Intellectual Freedom is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials.
Map of Bans and Challenges
Banned Books Week Twitter
Contact Us
If you have any questions about this guide or you need help finding resources for your ENG 310 assignments, please contact librarians Anna Mary Williford or Sheila Brandt.
UM's Banned Books Week 2023 Site
Visit UM's 2023 Banned Books Week site. It includes many resources including banned books lists, news stories, videos, and online resources.
