Skip to main content

ENG 232/234: Global Literature: Classes

English 232 Dr. Murphy Spring 2017

Steps in the Research Process

General Exploration of topic

Locate: 

  1. Encyclopedias in the Reference Collection (print and online)
  2. Books in the library or use Interlibrary loan to obtain books and/or articles from another library for free

Use Serious Scholarly Sources 

  1. Library Databases
  2. Government sites 
    1. Use Google and limit search to .gov
      Example : Vietnam war site:.gov

​      3. Digital archive sites
                 1. Add the terms digital archive to your search 
                     Example: Vietnam war and digital archive
                     Example: Bonus Army and digital archive

 


 

Your Librarian

Anna Mary Williford's picture
Anna Mary Williford
Contact:
(205) 665-6108

Library Databases for scholarly and reliable research

Discovery Search Box

Find Books, Articles + More at UM Library:

Advanced Search

Limit Your Results

ENG 232 Assignments

  • Group agrees on a general place and time to explore;
  • Outline the nature of the violence that gave rise to this movement;
  • Look at the life, words and actions of an individual or group of people who were instrumental in confronting that violence;
  • Assess the relative success or failure of the movement in the short or long term;
  • Find a flash point in the struggle;
  • Did a major work of art arise from the conflict?
  • Research a geographical location deeply involved in the movement;
  • Research any other aspect of the larger dynamic you’d like to explore.

Link to Feedback Form