Skip to main content

Library Home: Collections

Research

Articles (Databases)

Other Catalogs

Search WorldCat Local Catalog


OCLC Video Tutorial Guide to Using WorldCat Local

Guide to Using WorldCat Local

What is WorldCat Local?

Do we still have all the Databases?

What about the "old" Catalog? Is it still around?

Single-search Access: What is Included?

What can't I find in World Cat Local?

My question isn't here, who should I contact about WorldCat Local?

Birmingham Area Consortium of Higher Education

Birmingham Area Consortium for Higher Education Logo

The Birmingham Area Consortium for Higher Education (BACHE) is a partnership among the five, four-year colleges and universities in the greater Birmingham area. Montevallo students have full lending privileges at these libraries.

Shelby County Public Libraries

Persons with a valid Shelby County address may obtain a library card at their city's library. Shelby County card holders have access to the collections of all 14 libraries in the Shelby County system.

Collections

Browsing Collection

The Browsing Collection contains contemporary fiction and non-fiction titles selected to meet the recreational reading interests and enjoyment of the students, faculty, and staff. These titles are primarily from reviews in respected publications such as the New York Times Book Review, Atlantic, Harper's, and the like. This collection shall consist of paper as well as hard cover titles as identified from current or recent best sellers list as identified by Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and New York Times.

Newest Browsing Books

Browsing Books Feed RSS 

Print Reference Collection

The print reference collection contains handbooks, encyclopedias, and guides to scholarship in every discipline.

Newest Print Reference Books

Reference Books Feed RSS 

Young People's Literature Collection

The young people’s literature collection supports our students in their study of early childhood education, elementary education, middle school education, secondary education, education of the hearing impaired, speech pathology, and English. The purpose of the collection is to help students in these programs to identify and examine works that can be effective in literature-based instruction across the curriculum at the K-12 level. The collection is not intended to be comprehensive; rather, we offer a sample of the best of children’s literature, including Caldecott and Newberry Award winners. Other well-loved classics and contemporary works of distinction may be acquired as appropriate and as funding allows. Additionally, the collection shall consist of materials in the subjects that will supplement and/or support student teachers in their classroom internships.

Newest Books for Young People

Young People Books Feed RSS 

Other Carmichael Library Collections

picture of browsing collection

browsing collection books

Browsing Collection - Photo by Mike Price (used by permission)

picture of print reference

reference books at Carmichael

Print Reference Collection - Photo by Hunter Tinsley (used by permission)

picture of ya lit collection

children's books at Carmichael

Young People's Literature Collection - Photo by Mike Price (used by permission)

Request an Item

We always welcome suggestions about what to add to our collection.  If there's a book, DVD, or other item you'd like us to consider, tell us about it in the form below.