Discovery System
Best Bet!
Best Bet! Your country name, popular chefs, distinctive ingredients, and popular dishes unique to your country can also be used as search terms.
Resource Profile: Scholarly Articles
Photo by allie(tm) at Flickr
How can you tell if a journal article is scholarly? Often journals will have editorial policies and submission guidelines(in print or on the journal website) that tell you whether or not a journal is scholarly. Some database search engines allow you to limit your searches to peer reviewed journals.
How are scholarly journal articles different from regular articles? Scholarly articles go through a process called peer review. Articles are only published if other expertsagree that the article contributes to the field.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Finding FCS Articles
Several examples of subject headings appropriate for use in the library catalog when searching for materials are:
- Food
- Nutrition
- Food Culture
- Recipes
- Cuisine
- Culinary Practices
- Food Preparation
- Food Habits
- International Cooking
- Customs and manners
- Etiquette
EXAMPLE: India and culinary practices. Limit to articles.
Best Bet! And of course, your country name, popular chefs, distinctive ingredients, and popular dishes unique to your country can also be used as search terms.
To obtain an authoritative list of subject headings check the Library of Congress Subject Headings.
