Reliable Books on Customs and Society
You Eat What You Are by
YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT explores the culinary traditions of cultures around the world. In each case, the food preferences reveal links with the social structure, geography and history of the culture.
Call Number: GT 2850 .B37 1999x (First Floor Reference Collection)ISBN: 1552093654Publication Date: 1999-07-01
Do Parents Matter? by
When it comes to parenting, more isn't always better,but it is always more tiringIn Japan, a boy sleeps in his parents' bed until age ten, but still shows independence in all other areas of his life. In rural India, toilet training begins one month after infants are born and is accomplished with little fanfare. In Paris, parents limit the amount of agency they give their toddlers. In America, parents grant them ever more choices, independence, and attention.Given our approach to parenting, is it any surprise that American parents are too frequently exhausted?Over the course of nearly fifty years, Robert and Sarah LeVine have conducted a ground-breaking, worldwide study of how families work. They have consistently found that children can be happy and healthy in a wide variety of conditions, not just the effort-intensive, cautious environment so many American parents drive themselves crazy trying to create. While there is always another news article or scientific fad proclaiming the importance of some factor or other, it's easy to miss the bigger picture: that children are smarter, more resilient, and more independent than we give them credit for. Do Parents Matter? is an eye-opening look at the world of human nurture, one with profound lessons for the way we think about our families.
Call Number: HQ755.8 .L4894 2016ISBN: 1610397231Publication Date: 2016
Countries and Their Cultures by Call Number: Ref. GN 307 .C68 2001 (First Floor Reference Collection)ISBN: 0028649478Publication Date: 2001
Beauty Around the World by
Taking the concept of beauty seriously, this encyclopedia examines how humanity has sought and continues to seek what is "beautiful" in a variety of cultural contexts, giving readers an understanding of how to look at beauty both intellectually and critically. * Provides an interdisciplinary approach to world beauty practices, from the earliest experiments in plastic surgery in 600 B.C. to contemporary practices * Gives readers a representative overview of beauty practices around the globe * Documents how from cosmetics to clothing, exercise to body modification, being beautiful is a goal worldwide * Identifies numerous authoritative sources of information for further research and reading
Call Number: Ref. GT 499 .K46 2017 (First Floor Reference Collection)ISBN: 9781610699440Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Marriage Customs of the World by
This book presents a comprehensive overview of global courtship and marriage customs, from ancient history to contemporary society, demonstrating the vast differences as well as the similarities across all of human culture. This second edition of Marriage Customs of the World examines historical context, social significance, and current trends and controversies of matrimony in the Western world as well as other cultures. Apart from detailing the ceremonies from specific countries, the book identifies specific elements of the wedding event and discusses them in a comparative manner, showcasing the similarities across cultures. The new content in this work includes additional information on courtship and how future spouses are found in other cultures; marriage in art, cinema, theater, and poetry; wedding bands; forced marriages and shotgun weddings; New Year's weddings; legislation regarding marriage; and engagement practices. Entries carried over from the first edition have been revised and updated as well. With its broad scope and consideration of contemporary issues alongside historical information, this work will be ideal for high school and undergraduate students; scholars of anthropology, social studies, and history; and general readers. * Over 300 topical entries organized in alphabetical order make this book a comprehensive, easy-to-use resource * "Further Reading" sections following each entry promote deeper research * Photographs of various elements of wedding celebrations illustrate the text
Call Number: Ref. GT 2690 .M65 2013 (First Floor Reference Collection)ISBN: 1598846639Publication Date: 2013
Reliable Websites on Manners, Customs and Etiquette
- Culture Crossing GuideThe Culture Crossing Guide is an evolving database of cross-cultural information about every country in the world. This user-built guide allows people from all walks of life to share essential tips with each other about how to navigate our increasingly borderless world with savvy and sensitivity.
- eDiplomat: Cultural Etiquette Around the World"eDiplomat was started by a group of diplomats who recognized the potential of the Internet to serve as a platform for connecting diplomats and those interested in diplomacy."
- The Ultimate Guide to Worldwide EtiquetteBrief cultural tips from Swissotel Hotels & Resorts.
Reliable Ebooks on Customs and Culture
Handbook of World Families by
`At a time when we are moving more and more toward a global village, this ambitious book provides evidence of world-wide trends in families and family relations. It also illustrates the resilience of local cultures, seen in variations among nations in trends and responses to them. This is a very useful resource for obtaining the kind of baseline information that is essential to comparative work. As well, a number of chapters contribute to our understanding of the complexities and politics of family life, starting with what is meant by family. This book will educate many about other parts of the world and the central place of families in them′ - Ingrid Arnet Connidis, University of Western Ontario `In the Handbook of World Families, Bert Adams and Jan Trost, two of the leading scholars in the field of comparative family studies, have masterfully edited a book that comparatively examines families from 25 nations located around the world. The chapter contributors have both theoretical and research knowledge as well as lived experiences of respective nation′s families. The result is a well written, highly informed, and authoritative handbook that investigates an extensive range of family issues from local, national, and global perspectives′ - Mark Hutter, Rowan University What defines a family? The term family is very complex with a vast range of meanings. It can mean a married couple with children, a single parent and child, a married couple with no children, even pets and close friends can be considered to some people as family. The variety is enormous and this family diversity is present not just in the United States, but around the world. The Handbook of World Families provides a cross-cultural perspective on the family by examining family life in 25 countries worldwide. The countries included in this volume are organized by six world regions including Africa, Asia/South Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and North America-offering readers the most thorough and balanced cross-cultural examination of world families available. Bert N Adams and Jan Trost, along with contributions by top family studies experts from around the world, ensure reliable, cutting-edge research and perspectives. While other books may provide a cross-cultural perspective on the family, this book offers a unique comparative view. In doing so, each chapter of the Handbook is organized in a parallel format beginning with an introduction to the region, followed by coverage of mate selection, fertility and socialization, gender roles, marriage, stresses and violence, divorce and remarriage, kinship, aging and death, family and other institutions, and special topics specific to the region. The Handbook of World Families is an excellent addition to any academic library and an important resource for scholars and academics in the fields of Family Studies and Sociology. It can also be used in graduate level courses on the family in cross-cultural perspective, comparative family organization, and world families.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 0761927638Publication Date: 2004
Families Across Cultures by
Contemporary trends such as increased one-parent families, high divorce rates, second marriages and homosexual partnerships have all contributed to variations in the traditional family structure. But to what degree has the function of the family changed and how have these changes affected family roles in cultures throughout the world? This book attempts to answer these questions through a psychological study of families in thirty nations, carefully selected to present a diverse cultural mix. The study utilises both cross-cultural and indigenous perspectives to analyse variables including family networks, family roles, emotional bonds, personality traits, self-construal, and 'family portraits' in which the authors address common core themes of the family as they apply to their native countries. From the introductory history of the study of the family to the concluding indigenous psychological analysis of the family, this book is a source for students and researchers in psychology, sociology and anthropology.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 0521529875Publication Date: 2006-
Culture and Customs of Russia by
Culture and Customs of Russia is a splendid introduction to the largest country in the world. This timely volume gives the scope of the country from earliest history through the breakup of the Soviet Union to the present day. Students and a general audience will learn about the land, history, thought and religion, social customs, marriage and family, education, cuisine, fashion, literature, media, film, the arts, and architecture. The authoritative breadth of coverage, accessibility, and engaging writing style are truly outstanding. Culture and Customs of Russia encompasses the grand achievements of Russian society and the everyday life and traditions of average citizens. A Land, People, and History chapter surveys the geography and Russian population and succinctly chronicles the long, fascinating Russian saga, peopled with imposing figures such as Ivan the Terrible, Catherine the Great, and Joseph Stalin. The Thought and Religion discussion is highly informative as it traces the role of and attitudes toward religion through the centuries. Russian proverbs and superstitions are also included. The current state of marriage, gender roles, children, and education is surveyed next. Holidays and leisure activities, the famous Russian cuisine, and fashion, both traditional and contemporary, are charmingly evoked. The literature chapter illuminates not only the classic writers such as Leo Tolstoy but modern authors and poets such as Anna Akhmatova plus popular fiction and fairy tales. The Media and Cinema chapter brings more of the Russian contemporary popular culture to life. A chapter on Russian performing arts reflects the golden age of Russian music with composers such as Tchaikovsky, and also examines folk instruments and pop and rock, the famous Russian ballet scene, and the equally esteemed drama and theater. The art chapter includes icons, painting, folk art and decorative arts such as needle crafts and wood toys. The final chapter on architecture describes homes, churches, and public buildings. A glossary, timeline, and numerous photos enhance the text. This volume provides a vast amount of information that is up to date as well as accessible.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 0313311013Publication Date: 2000-09-30
Greece - Culture Smart! by
When you enter Greece's mountainous peninsula, with its long coastline and unique archipelago, you are returning to the cradle of Western civilization. And while the ancient Greeks fashioned our political, ethical, aesthetic, and scientific values, their descendants down the ages have continued to set trends and shape world events. The Greek character is a product of the landscape. Surrounded by sea on three sides, the physical features of the land forged the pronounced individuality and strong local patriotism of the warring city-states of antiquity. Their shared history and language formed the basis of a powerful world culture. Today it is coming to terms with its recent economic and political upheavals. The Greeks have repeatedly proved they can adjust and shift their expectations--the new generation knows the old ways have gone and is bracing itself for unpredictable challenges. Culture Smart! Greece will equip you with essential information about the background, values, and attitudes of the people you will meet and give practical advice on how to deal with unfamiliar situations. Life in Greece operates on many criss-crossing levels, offering plenty of possibilities and a variety of lifestyles. Visitors emerge from their Greek experience enriched for life, with an enduring affection for this beautiful land and its gifted people.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1857338707Publication Date: 2018
Spain - Culture Smart! by
For many, Spain conjures up images of rapacious conquistadors, the unworldly Don Quixote, brave bullfighters, fiery flamenco dancers, and brilliant artists. All true enough--but how does the reality conform to these stereotypes? The Spanish people are certainly distinctive. Visitors are often astounded by their vitality, entranced by their friendliness, and driven mad by their frequent indulgence of their friends and relatives. They tend to be proud, passionate, spontaneous, generous, and loyal; they can also be procrastinators, individualistic to a fault, suspicious, and, not least, very noisy! Spain has had a major impact on European and world history. This is the nation that enjoyed a golden age of enlightenment, that discovered America and gathered in its riches, and that left the great legacy of its culture and its language, today spoken by over four hundred million people. In the early twentieth century, Spain suffered a bitter civil war and a stultifying dictatorship, from which it emerged in the late seventies to become again an integral part of Europe and the international arena. Culture Smart! Spain explores the complex human realities of modern Spanish life. It describes how history and geography have created both regional differences and shared values and attitudes. It reveals what the Spaniards are like at home, and in business, and how they socialize. It prepares you for their boundless energy and widespread religious devotion; and offers practical tips on how to behave and make the very most of your visit. The better you understand the Spanish people, the more you will be enriched by your experience of this vital, warm, and varied country--where the individual is important, and the enjoyment of life is paramount.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 1857338383Publication Date: 2016
