Find Articles
Below are some databases that may contain articles relevant to your research assignment.
A few useful subjects / keywords to get you started in your searches:
| Education Educational Attainment Health Health care Health insurance Housing Home Ownership Food security Hunger |
Equality Poverty Income Social mobility Social stratification Social classes Social conflict |
United States |
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial - PubMed Central PMC (full-text subset of PubMed) This link opens in a new windowPubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Click the instructions icon (blue book) to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Important Journals in Sociology
- American Journal of SociologyCurrent print issues also available in library
- American Sociological ReviewCurrent print issues also available in library
- Contemporary SociologyCurrent print issues also available in library
- Sociological InquiryPrint issues available in library
Finding Research Articles VS. Finding Editorials and Essays
Dr. Parker wants you to read essays and analyses in popular magazines, as well as research articles on your topic
Academic Search Premier and Academic Onefile are excellent databases to find these kinds of articles. Use the Advanced Search features to limit your searches. When searching for research articles in these databases, you will want to check the "peer reviewed" box.
But when searching for thoughtful popular analyses you may want to make use of some of these limits on the Advanced Search screen.
Check the Cover Story box:
Or you might select the Document Type: Editorial box (or Essay, in Academic Onefile):
Or perhaps type in one of the journal titles your professor has identified as having useful analyses, such as the New Republic, the National Review, the Nation, or the Atlantic.
Note: You probably don't want to do all of these at once!
