Skip to main content

MK 476 Applied Research

Library Databases : locate academic journal articles in the marketing field

Reading academic journal articles is a good way to examine some of the best writing by marketing scholars.  The following library databases aggregate content from the leading academic journals in business. Always limit your search to peer reviewed publications to ensure you find scholarly content.  

Discovery Service

Find Books, Articles + More at UM Library:

Advanced Search

Limit Your Results

test

Journal of Marketing (full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Marketing Research (full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Consumer Research (full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Retailing (indexed in Business Source Complete)
Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science (full text on Business Source Complete with 12 month embargo)
Marketing Science (indexed in Business Source Complete)
Harvard Business review (full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Business Research (indexed in Business Source Complete)
Journal of Advertising 
(full text on Business Source Complete with 12 month embargo)
Journal of Advertising Research 
(full text on Business Source Complete)
Management Science 
(indexed in Business Source Complete)
Journal of Personal Selling and Sales Management (JPSSM) full text on Business Source Complete)

Advances in Consumer Research (ACR Conference Proceedings)(full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Public Policy and Marketing (JPP&M) full text on Business Source Complete)
Journal of Marketing Education (JMD) (indexed in Business Source Complete)
Psychology & Marketing (full text on Business Source Complete with 12 month embargo)

 

Academic journals include :

  • Articles written by experts in the field for scholars, researchers and students
  • Academic journals, often called scholarly journals, contain peer reviewed articles.
  • Articles are often long and include jargon.
  • Academic journals articles will almost always include citations and references.
  • Academic journals are often published monthly or quarterly. 

Popular Magazines 

  • Designed to inform the general reader.
  • Articles tend to be short and written by staff writers and sometimes public intellectuals.
  • Popular magazines often include pictures and are often published weekly.
  • Popular Magazines rarely include citations and references. 

Trade journals

  • Written for the industry audience.  For example, Candy is written for the manufactures, sales people, and vendors in the candy industry.  T
  • Articles are generally written by paid staffers, vendors and professionals in the industry.  
  • Trade journals rarely include citations or references. 

 

Loading ...