Getting Started with Project 3
If you're an ENG 101 student working on Project 3, you've come to the right place!
Step One: Watch the Archives Tutorial Videos (Parts One and Two) embedded in this page.
Step Two: Use the digitized books linked on the "Archives Videos and Montevallo Books" page, as well as the Digital Archives resources introduced by Carey in the videos, to find information about your Montevallo-related research subject.
Step Three: If you still have Archives-related questions, email Carey at heatherlycw@montevallo.edu to book an appointment with Archives staff.
Step Four: If you haven't already, complete your Field Notes about your Montevallo research subject.
Step Five: Use the information you gained from the Archives documents and your field notes to guide you toward a topic related to your Montevallo subject that you could search for in the Library Databases.
IMPORTANT: Do not search for academic/scholarly articles about your Montevallo subject (i.e. Reynolds Hall, Julia Tutwiler, etc etc) in the library databases!! Your best bet for finding UM-related information will be in the books about UM and/or Digital Archives documents, from your own field notes, and other credible sources such as the campus website or newspaper articles. Once you have all of those pieces in place, then go to the databases to find your academic and credible popular sources. Remember that you need at least one of each for this assignment.
Step Six: Search the databases for academic and credible popular sources on a topic that relates to your Montevallo research subject. View THIS TUTORIAL to help you get started. It includes a step-by-step guide for planning your search, as well as a short video that will introduce you to the basics of database searching. Remember: if you need help transitioning from your Montevallo subject to a topic you can search in the databases, or if you need help finding relevant articles, librarians are here to help! Use the "Get Help" box on this page to book an appointment directly with Anna Mary, or to contact any of the librarians via chat, email, phone, or in person. Once you've gone through the tutorial on how to find articles, click over to the Finding Articles tab on this guide to get started searching the databases for academic and popular sources.
Archives Appointment Sign-Up
If you need to schedule a Zoom appointment with someone from the University Archives, please email Carey Heatherly, the University Archivist, at heatherlycw@montevallo.edu
Books and Articles About the University of Montevallo
- White Columns & Red Brick: Searchable Digitized Version
A campus history featuring the University of Montevallo buildings. If your profile is about a campus building, you should definitely take a look at this one! This book does not contain a table of contents, but a list of the buildings is in the PDF below.
- Buildings in White Columns & Red BricksA list of the buildings covered in White Columns & Red Bricks, which does not contain a Table of Contents.
- White Columns & Red Brick byCall Number: LD3544.5 .G75 1988Publication Date: 1988This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Years Rich and Fruitful: Searchable Digitized Version
Written by alumnae and long-serving Library Director Mary Frances Tipton, Year Rich and Fruitful was produced for the school's 1996 centenary. The coffee table style publication relies heavily on photographs and provides a succinct history of campus since the doors opened on October 12, 1896.
- Years Rich and Fruitful: University of Montevallo 1896-1996 byCall Number: LD3543 .T57 1996Publication Date: 1996This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Alabama College 1896-1969: Searchable Digitized Version
Alabama College 1896-1969 is Dr. Lucille Griffith's preeminent history of campus. The book documents from the creation of the Alabama Girls' Industrial School up to the 1969 transition the University of Montevallo.
- Alabama College, 1896-1969 byCall Number: LD3543 .G7Publication Date: 1969This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years: Searchable Digitized Version
A searchable digitized version of Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years.
- Montevallo, the First One Hundred Years byCall Number: F334.M68 M47Publication Date: 1977This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- The Lives and Times of Kingswood in Alabama, 1817-1980: Searchable Digitized VersionWritten by the wife of a former University of Montevallo President, the book chronicles the story of Edmund King's family and the life of the his plantation. The author also led the effort to save the home, restore it to its original Federal style appearance, and make it a centerpiece of the campus historical district.
- The Lives and Times of Kingswood in Alabama, 1817-1890 byCall Number: F334.M68 J6Publication Date: 1976This link will take you to the physical copies of this book at Carmichael Library.
- Alabama Heritage Article about UM HistoryArticle from Alabama Heritage about the history of Montevallo, published in Spring 2007.
Montevallo by Call Number: F334.M68 M66 2011ISBN: 9780738587431Publication Date: 2011-05-23This book is available in print only (no digitized version). It includes historical information about both the town and university.- College Night: A Centennial Celebration byCall Number: LD3543.C65 2019Publication Date: 2019This book is available in print only (no digitized version) but a scan of the Table of Contents is available in the PDF below. If you are writing about College Night, this should be the first resource you consult.
- College Night: A Centennial CelebrationTable of Contents
