Suggest a Database
Is there a database or resource that you would like us to access? Suggest it by filling out the form below, and we will consider adding it to our collection.
Complete A-Z List of Databases and Resources
Use the A-Z Database and Resources list to access all of the Carmichael Library's online holdings. If you don't know the name of the resource you're looking for, you can also search databases by subject. If one of the links does not work, or if you need help accessing these sources off-campus, please contact a librarian.
A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H-I-J-K-L-M-N-O-P-Q-R-S-T-U-V-W-X-Y-Z |
Database Icons

A video screencast tutorial of the database is available.
A
- Academic OneFileOffers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search PremierA multi-disciplinary resource that spans virtually every area of academic study
- ACS PublicationsPublished by the American Chemical Society, this database offers peer-reviewed articles from journals in the chemical and related sciences.
- Accounting Research ManagerOffers expert-written information about accounting, auditing, governmental, internal controls and SEC information as well as primary source data. Only allows access to one user at a time. (For classes using this database, more concurrent users can be added upon request.)
- AGRICOLAThe catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, this database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
- Agriculture CollectionWith broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of this growing body of knowledge. Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Alt-HealthWatchCovers complementary and alternative medicine publications back to 1990
- America: History & LifeComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- American History in VideoAnalyze historical events, and their presentation over time, with over 1,500 hours of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- Annals of American HistoryIncludes the full text of over 2,000 primary source documents including speeches, essays, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, editorials, biographies, images, and multi-media.
- ArchiveGridAn index providing nearly 1,000,000 detailed descriptions of library, museum, and archival collections from around the world.
- Art Full TextIndexes and abstracts articles from periodicals relating to all aspects of art published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
- ARTstor
Provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. | Watch Video Tutorial | Registration Help - Article FirstAn index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945. | Watch Video Tutorial
B
- Biography Reference BankBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images.
- BioOneAn aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals published by small societies and non-commercial publishers
- Book Collection: NonfictionA resource aimed at public and school libraries. Includes full text from over 2000 books.
- Brittanica Online Academic EditionIncludes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and Notable Quotations.
- Business Index ASAPAbstracts and full text coverage of banking, investment, companies, industries and new technologies from over 800 titles.
- Business Insights: EssentialsBusiness Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
- Business Source CompleteFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface)Provides full text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1100 peer-reviewed journals. The BSI interface has the same rich content but displays different publication types near the top.
C
- Career LibraryIncludes tools to explore college and career interests, plan for college or the workforce, and to build résumés.
- Catalog of Museum Images Online (CAMIO)Access to 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media. All content is rights-cleared for educational use.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationFull access to the premier publication for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- ClasePeriodicaThis index provides access to Latin American journal article citations and is actually two Spanish-language indexes joined together in one service. The CLASE database indexes over 1200 Latin American journals in the social sciences and the humanities, while the PERIODICA database indexes over 1400 Latin American science and technology journals.
- Classical Music Library Access recorded classical music from leading recording labels for listening and learning
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- Communications and Mass Media CollectionFrom marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
- Contemporary AuthorsProvides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors
- Contemporary Literary CriticismContains more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors. Search by entering author name, title of work, nationality, subject/genre, ethnicity, critic name, and more.
- Culinary Arts CollectionThe Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
D
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyProvides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- DissertationsSelectively covers masters theses and dissertations including dissertations from Canada, Great Britain, and Europe.
E
- Early English Books OnlineCoverage of nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- EBSCOhost Health DatabasesSearches our EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, covering different aspects of health resources.
- EBSCOhost WebSearches our EBSCOhost databases simultaneously, covering a very wide range of subjects.
- Educator's Reference CompleteA selection of academic journals, full-text reports, and reference sources focused on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.
- Encyclopedia Britannica OnlineOnline access to one of the most prestigious encyclopedias (academic edition.)
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels.
- ERIC (Institute of Education Sciences)The free version of this important Department of Education resource.
- Ethnic NewsWatchAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries.
- Expanded Academic ASAPA combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines Freely Accessible Arts & Humanities Journals.
F
- Films on DemandA streaming video collection containing thousands of educational films and documentaries for all academic disciplines. Content comes from quality publishers like PBS, Meridian, Cambridge Educational, the BBC, National Geographic and more. UM community members have access to over 6,000 titles. Many of the titles are closed captioned.
- Fine Arts and Music CollectionWith more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World EncyclopediaIncludes 25,000 full text encyclopedic entries that are searchable by subject or keywords. Audience: middle school through college, general public.
G
- Gale PowerSearchAccesses all Gale databases with a single search engine.
- Gale Student EditionNow with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture CollectionFarmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
- General OneFileA one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
- General Reference Center GoldProvides one-stop access to general interest magazines, business periodicals, reference books, maps, historical images, and newspaper articles.
- General Science CollectionA collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
- Google ScholarUse Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials
- Government Printing Office (GPO)The U.S. Government Printing Office disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- GreenFILEGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- GREENRThe Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia. Use Browse Issues and Topics, World Map, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
H
- Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health ModuleProvides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
- Health Source: Consumer EditionProvides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals and other health information written for the health consumer
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionProvides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals
- HighWire PressOffers over two million free full-text articles across a wide range of academic disciplines.
- Historic DocumentsDocuments ranging from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- Historical AbstractsComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
- History Reference CenterFull text from more than 650 history reference books and encyclopedias, cover to cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies and 12,000 historical photos, maps and other images.
- Home Improvement CollectionEven the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure CollectionWith current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
I
- Informe!Provides magazine articles in Spanish to meet the needs of the Hispanic community.
- InfoTrac General OneFileProvides access to periodical and news information on a diverse set of topics, including humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, environmental issues, and general interest topics.
- InfoTrac Student EditionDesigned for high school students, with access to a variety of magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
J
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & CriticismContains nearly 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Archive CollectionIncludes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
K
- Kids InfoBitsKids InfoBits meets the needs of young students with simple, quick access to curriculum-related information on current events, arts, sciences, health, people, government, sports, history and more.
- Kids SearchThe Kids Search interface combines the EBSCOhost search engine with a child-friendly, graphically-rich design.
L
- LegalTracIndexes 875 titles, many with full text articles, including all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. Law-related Legal journals are selected using criteria developed by the American Association of Law Libraries. Additional full text articles are included from over 1,000 business and general interest titles.
- LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Audience: media specialists, college, general public.
- Literature Resource CenterContains critical and biographical information on literary figures in a wide variety of genres and throughout history.
- Literature Resources from GaleSearches literature databases including LitFinder, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Author Series.
- LitFinderLocate poetry, plays, essays, short stories and speeches in publications. Also includes biographical information on authors.
M
- MasterFILE PremierProvides full text for more than 2,050 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
- MathSciNetA comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940, including reviews of mathematical research from the Mathematical Reviews database.
- MEDLINEOnline database of 11 million citations and abstracts from health and medical journals and other news sources.
- MedlinePlusOnline database of 11 million citations and abstracts from health and medical journals and other news sources.
- Mental Measurements YearbookContains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas
- Military and GovernmentDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites.
- MLA Directory of PeriodicalsContains detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in MLA International Bibliography. The entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
- MLA International BibliographyProduced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers.
N
- Newspaper SourceProvides selected full text from 25 US and international newspapers.
- New York Times, HistoricalContains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008.
- Nineteenth Century British PamphletsMore than 20,000 pamphlets from UK research libraries focus on the socio-political and economic history of 19th century Britain.
O
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextContextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a full-text resource covering today’s social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyOver 55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
- Oxford English DictionaryThe accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
- Oxford JournalsFull text from over 150 journals published by the Oxford University Press
- Oxford Music OnlineOffers the Grove Music series as well as The Oxford Companion to Music and its more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres. Includes other major music reference works.
- Oxford Reference Online: Art & Architecture
- Oxford Reference Online: PremiumAllows cross-searching of prestigious reference works published by Oxford University Press.
P
- PapersFirstCovers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
- Personal FinancePersonal Finance eBooks
- Philosopher's IndexThe Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Points of View Reference CenterCoverage of 270 topics with overviews, point and counterpoint essays, and Critical Thinking Guides for further research.
- ProceedingsCovers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
- Professional Development CollectionDesigned for professional educators. Includes full text for more than 550 education and library science journals. This database also provides full text for 167 education pamphlets and scholarly monographs.
- Project MUSEProject MUSE's Standard Collection is an interdisciplinary collection of nearly 350 high quality, peer reviewed journals concentrated in the humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest NewspapersIncludes ProQuest Newsstand, Atlanta Journal & Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post.
- PsycARTICLESPsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
- PsycINFOContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- PubChemPubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
- PubMed Central (Full Participant titles)A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
R
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureOffers a broad international coverage of music related works from articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, film & video to concert reviews and recording notes
S
- Scribner Writers OnlineIncludes over 2,000 essays on authors and literary genres, taken from the Scribner print series.
- Scholarships, Fellowships & LoansScholarships, Fellowships & Loans eBooks
- SIRS DiscovererInteractive reference tool of full text articles and images from 1,100 magazines for young readers.
- SPORTDiscusOffers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines
- STN/Chemical Abstracts (Contact Dr. Houston Byrd)Contact Dr. Houston Byrd for access. STN is an online database service that provides global access to published research, journal literature, patents, structures, sequences, properties, and other data.
- Student Research CenterThe Student Research Center provides students in secondary schools with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they seek from their EBSCO databases.
T
- Twayne's Authors OnlineTwayne's Authors offers the full-text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.
U
- Ulrich's Periodicals DirectoryA source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types — academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
W
- World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineA searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
- World AlmanacA fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a global network of library content and services. Use this database to search for books, articles, videos, sound recordings, etc., in other libraries.
- WorldCat Dissertations and ThesesMore than 5 million records of dissertations and theses with approximately 7500 dissertations and theses available in full text.
- World Data AnalystFrom Britannica, World Data Analyst offers quick and easy comparisons of the countries of the world.

Submit
Loading...
