Skip to main content

BIO 205: Ecology: Finding Articles

Resources and information for disciplines that intersect with ecology

Discovery System Search

Find Books, Articles + More at UM Library:

Advanced Search

Limit Your Results

No full text? Use Interlibrary Loan

Since no library can carry everything, Interlibrary Loan allows you access to materials held throughout the state, country, and world--for FREE!  Carmichael's Interlibrary Loan department will help you locate the materials you need, assisting you throughout your research process. 

Recommended Databases to locate peer-reviewed journal articles

To search for peer-reviewed articles, you will need to use the library's Discovery System or an online subject specific database. These databases function as indexes for the contents of scholarly journals.  Some key databases for researching Biology and Ecology are:

Websites

Plant Information Online 

  • Online resource for plant and seed identification
  • Largest listing of cultivated plants in North America
  • Links and contact information for North American retail nurseries and firms
  • Bibliographic details for images of wild and cultivated plants from around the world
  • Links to sites on growing plants in specific regions of US and Canada

Finding the full text

There are several ways to locate the full text of articles:

1. The full text may be readily available, in PDF or HTML format, in the database (or in Google Scholar)

2. If there is no full text available or the article is not in our library, you can request an article or book on Interlibrary Loan.  This is a free service for Montevallo students!  

Ecology Journals

This is a selective list of peer-reviewed journals in the field of Ecology.  The list is by no means and exhaustive list of ecology periodicals.  Consult your professor to determine if a journal is appropriate for your assignment.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution & Systematics
Nature
Science
Trends in Ecology and Evolution 
Ecological Monographs
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA
Systematic Biology 
Ecology
Ecology Letters
American Naturalist 

 

Bio Content