Skip to main content

Library Policies

Pat Scales Special Collections

Room Usage Guidelines

  1. The Pat Scales Special Collections Room is reserved for faculty and researchers using materials.  The room is also available for class sessions, in courses that incorporate Special Collections materials into assignments.  Classes must be scheduled at least two weeks in advance with an archives staff member. Such classes are by appointment only and at the discretion of the staff pending classroom availability and staffing coverage.
  2. Special Collections materials are non-circulating and must be used in the Special Collections Room.
  3. Food, drink, briefcases, backpacks, tote bags, laptop cases, coats, and hats are not permitted in the Special Collections Room.
  4. Talking on cell phones or playing music is not permitted in the Special Collections Room.
  5. Researchers must complete and sign a registration form and show valid photo identification.
  6. Use pencil or laptop for taking notes. Ink is strictly prohibited to avoid damage to materials.  Items must remain on table at all times. No leaning, folding, tracing, or writing on materials.
  7. Maintain the existing arrangement of materials in folders.   
  8. Digital photos are permitted with permission of archives staff member.
  9. Photocopying or scanning is done by staff if condition of materials permits.
  10. All items included in the Collection are subject to U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17 United States Code).
  11. Materials should be cited as follows: Scales Collection, Milner Archives and Special Collections, Carmichael Library, University of Montevallo
  12. Publication from Special Collections materials requires permission from the repository. 

Collection Development Policy

Materials added to the Pat Scales Special Collections will be:

  1. Children’s or Young Adult (and)
  2. First Editions (or)
  3. Signed, inscribed (or)
  4. Rare (or)
  5. Challenged* (or)
  6. Caldecott or Newbery winner that the Library does not currently have (or)
  7. Books that are more of an artifact (i.e. a pop-up that is a work of art, not a Barnes & Noble or Wal-Mart type purchase) (or) 
  8. Donations containing materials dealing with children’s literature such as artwork, posters, dolls, figurines, etc.

 

*The Library may retain potentially controversial subject matter material for a designated amount of time to see if it is challenged.

The Library will not add duplicates to the Special Collection unless the book is in better condition than the copy currently in the collection (in which case the Library will retain both).  Donations given to the Library become the property of the University; materials not selected for inclusion in the Pat Scales Special Collections may be added to the Circulating collection, or may be sold, donated or discarded at the discretion of the Library.  In accordance with our more general gift policy, the Library is unable to provide appraisals of donations.