Skip to main content

Psychology: Psychology 499: History of Psychology

This Research Guide will help you navigate the resources in Psychology.

PSYC 499 Senior Seminar in the History of Psychology

1.  Any movement in the history of psychology in relation to a more particular topic.

2.  A discussion of any major figure or group of figures and the transformation brought about by his/her or their contribution.

3.  An in-depth examination of any minor figure in the History of Psychology not covered in class.  A case should be made, using information such as an overlooked contribution, for his/her inclusion in a course such as this one.

4.  Choose a side on a major issue in the History of Psychology and argue your case using as much historical and research evidence as possible. 

More information

Brainstorming Exercise

Use Interlibrary Loan

Since no library can carry everything, Interlibrary Loan allows you access to materials held throughout the state, country, and world - for FREE!  You should see an Interlibrary Loan option in our Discovery or WorldCat systems when you pull up items our library does not have.  To set up an account or manually fill out a request, visit our Interlibrary Loan page.

Feedback

Please let me know what you thought of today's session by completing this survey.  Thank you!

Welcome!

Welcome to the Carmichael Library research guide for PSYC 499: History of Psychology.

If you have any questions or comments you can contact me directly from this guide.

Quote

Start your search here!

There are a number of databases at Carmichael library that will help you find sources for your paper. Please click on them to begin searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed content:

PsycARTICLES Offers complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. All full text content.

PsycINFO Offers an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines. Some full text content.

ERIC (EBSCOhost search) ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Most of these journals are indexed comprehensively - that is, a record for every article in each issue is included in ERIC.   

WorldCat Local scholarly articles, books, DVDs, and more.

Helpful Websites

Films on Demand

Streaming video collection containing thousands of educational films:

APA: Citing your articles

Click here for a tutorial from the American Psychological Association about the basics of APA Style.


Print copies of the 6th edition of the APA Manual are located in the Reference Collection on the Main Floor of the library: Call nhumber:

Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2010


Many databases, namely EBSCOhost, have a cite feature that generates a citation for the article you are viewing. BE SURE to check the citation for accuracy and correct formatting.


Purdue Online Writing Lab has an APA Formatting and Style Guide...

with a handy sample paper.

Librarian

Amanda Melcher's picture
Amanda Melcher
Contact:
University of Montevallo
Carmichael Library
Station 6104
Montevallo, AL 35115

melcheras@montevallo.edu
205-665-6104