Finding Articles and More
Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles and research reviews covering all major scientific disciplines, along with definitions of scientific and technical terminology, biographies of well-known scientific figures, and images, animations, and videos on scientific topics.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Open access to over a million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics - Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowFull access to the premier publication for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Computer Science (in Gale One File) This link opens in a new windowThis is a Computer Science subset of Gale's One Search database. To search within this listing, do not use the main search box. Instead, look for the "Filter Your Search" section, click "Search Within", and enter your search terms.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to the cross-searchable full text of approximately 700 different reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, chronologies, etc.).
- Dimensions This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Dimensions contains more than 100 million publications, ranging from articles published in scholarly journals, books and book chapters, to preprints and conference proceedings. All publications are contextualized with linked data sets, funding, publications, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents. (Free version). Click the YouTube icon to watch an introductory video. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Click the instructions icon (blue book) to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940, including reviews of mathematical research from the Mathematical Reviews database.
- Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This open-source database indexes more than 200 million academic papers from all fields of science. Click the YouTube icon to access related video tutorials.
Journals
- Computer Science Journal Listing
A listing of peer-reviewed computer science journals that the UM library subscribes to.
- Journal of the ACM (JACM)
- ACM Computing Surveys
- ACM Transactions on Computer Systems
- ACM Transactions on Programming Languages and Systems
- Computer Science Review
- IET Communications
- IET Information Security
- IET Networks
- IET Software
- Distributed Computing
Search Via UM'S Library Discovery System
You can also go to our library homepage and use the yellow search box that will search across all of the library's content. This search box is also available below. Remember, this type of search is the broadest and will include all types of content (including books, ebooks, videos, articles, papers, news, and more). Use the instructions below to narrow your results.
- Enter a keyword
- On the results page, look for the "Refine Results" panel (on the left panel of the screen on a computer, or click the << on a mobile device).
- Under "Limit to" check "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals".
- You can also enter a date range to get more recent articles.
