Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 online streaming titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
eBook Central provides access to a large collection of scholarly ebooks across multiple disciplines. The books can be read online; and, most can be downloaded to your device for offline reading.
This 3D atlas of the human body provides interactive models of the body's systems: nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive.
Note: You can access this program through a computer browser with an internet connection. In addition, an app for mobile devices (for phones and tablets) is available. Instructions for accessing and downloading the app (via the App Store and Google Play) are provided on the site.
For usage instructions, go to the Human Anatomy Atlas (Visible Body) guide.
Carmichael Library patrons have access to streaming movies through Kanopy. These films cannot be streamed in public, but can only be viewed in a classroom setting or by individual students and faculty. To request a film, email melcheras@montevallo.edu. To view the catalog, visit https://www.kanopy.com/catalog.

Note: To view the films on a mobile device, you will need to install an app. Please click on the phone icon by the title above (Kanopy) for instructions. Also, once the app is set up, you can find films by clicking Browse, then Movies. Or, you can click the Search and the films will display.

If accessing off-campus on a computer, after signing in, click "Log-in to Montevallo" button on the first screen, and then again on the second screen.
Trial
Social Explorer provides interactive demographic data with tools that allow visualization and extraction. Data sources include the U.S. Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the FBI Uniform Crime Report, American election results, Religious Congregations and Membership Study, Vulcan Project carbon emissions data, U.S. Business Patterns, and County Health Rankings and Roadmaps data. It also includes data from the United Kingdom Census, Canadian Census, Eurostat, World Development Indicators, and Irish religion and population data. Users can create custom reports and maps, which can be saved if a personal account is created. To create a personal account, click the "Create Account" button, and use your UM email address when asked and follow the on-screen prompts.
Carmichael Library patrons have access to streaming movies through Swank. These films cannot be streamed in public, only in the classroom setting and by individual faculty and students.
For usage information, go to the Swank Digital Campus guide.
To request a film, email melcheras@montevallo.edu.
To view the Swank catalog, go to https://www.swank.com/digital-campus.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...