It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The African American Child by Yvette R. Harris; James A. GrahamPraise for the First Edition: This book argues convincingly that children's cultural differences need to be recognized for any accurate understanding of their development. Pointing out the need for additional and more effectively designed research, Harris and Graham provide a valuable foundation for further investigations. This nonpolemic book should be in all libraries, filling an unfortunate gap. Highly recommended. --Choice This is an evenhanded examination of the challenges affecting the lives of African American children that emphasizes their strengths and resiliency rather than deficits. It is the only text to comprehensively consider the biological, emotional, social, and cultural domains of development in this population. The second edition reflects an acceleration of research on the development of racial identity in African American children, a shift from the dictates of "No Child Left Behind" to a more flexible approach to student academic evaluation, and changes in the economic conditions of African American children and their families. The book also reflects the increase in the number of African American children in foster care and those with incarcerated parents. New coverage also includes new information about the mental health of African Americans, and a new chapter on adolescent development. This new edition features updated statistical information on health problems, healthcare access, new diagnostic techniques, new treatment approaches, and the number of children of African origin. It provides an expanded discussion of the value of qualitative methodology, ethical issues in research, and a discussion of the characteristics of middle and upper class African American families. End-of-chapter discussion questions, an "Insider's Voice" in each chapter that highlights important elements, and an "Issues Box" that highlights historic and legal issues also enhance the second edition. New to the Second Edition: New inclusion of information on African American adolescents A discussion of the impact of parental incarceration on the long- and short-term outcomes of African American children Updated statistical information on health, academic performance, language and literacy, and other issues Information about children of African origin and their families Information about middle and upper class African American families Expanded discussion of the value of qualitative methodology and ethical issues in research on African American children New diagnostic techniques and treatment approaches for sickle cell anemia Update on work with AA families and children in therapy and the role of community focused therapy A discussion of the role of self-efficacy on academic competence, the influence of NCLB on academic performance, and current initiatives to improve academic outcomes for African American children The current status of Oakland School Board's Ebonics Resolution New information on Prosocial Behavior and Empathy and Aggressive/Antisocial behavior among African American children Expanded section on how communities affect the lives of African American children including research on African American children and the media End-of-chapter discussion questions Insider's Voice" and "Issues Box" features in each chapter
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health by Kristie Brandt (Editor); Bruce D. Perry (Editor); Stephen Seligman (Editor); Ed Tronick (Editor); T. Berry Brazelton (Foreword by)Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Core Concepts and Clinical Practice is a groundbreaking book that provides an overview of the field from both theoretical and clinical viewpoints. The editors and chapter authors -- some of the field's foremost researchers and teachers -- describe from their diverse perspectives key concepts fundamental to infant-parent and early childhood mental health work. The complexity of this emerging field demands an interdisciplinary approach, and the book provides a clear, comprehensive, and coherent text with an abundance of clinical applications to increase understanding and help the reader to integrate the concepts into clinical practice. Offering both cutting-edge coverage and a format that facilitates learning, the book boasts the following features and content: * A focus on helping working professionals expand their specialization skills and knowledge and on offering core competency training for those entering the field, which reflects the Infant-Parent Mental Health Postgraduate Certificate Program (IPMHPCP) and Fellowship in Napa, CA that was the genesis of the book.* Chapters written by a diverse group of authors with vastly different training, expertise, and clinical experience, underscoring the book's interdisciplinary approach. In addition, terms such as clinician, therapist, provider, professional, and teacher are intentionally used interchangeably to describe and unify the field. * Explication and analysis of a variety of therapeutic models, including Perry's Neurosequential Model of Therapeutics; Brazelton's neurodevelopmental and relational Touchpoints; attachment theory; the Neurorelational Framework; Mindsight; and Downing's Video Intervention Therapy.* An entire chapter devoted to diagnostic schemas for children ages 0--5, which highlights the Diagnostic Classification of Mental Health Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood: Revised (DC:0-3R). With the release of DSM-5, this chapter provides a prototypical crosswalk between DC:0-3R and ICD codes.* A discussion of the difference between evidence-based treatments and evidence-based practices in the field, along with valuable information on randomized controlled trials, a research standard that, while often not feasible or ethically permissible in infant mental health work, remains a standard applied to the field.* Key points and references at the end of each chapter, and generous use of figures, tables, and other resources to enhance learning. The volume editors and authors are passionate about the pressing need for further research and the acquisition and application of new knowledge to support the health and well-being of individuals, families, and communities. Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Core Concepts and Clinical Practice should find a receptive audience for this critically important message.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Pediatric Psychology, Fifth Edition by Michael C. Roberts (Editor); Ric G. Steele (Editor)Thousands of practitioners and students have relied on this handbook, now thoroughly revised, for authoritative information on the links between psychological and medical issues from infancy through adolescence. Sponsored by the Society of Pediatric Psychology, the volume explores psychosocial aspects of specific medical problems, as well as issues in managing developmental and behavioral concerns that are frequently seen in pediatric settings. The book describes best practices in training and service delivery and presents evidence-based approaches to intervention with children and families. All chapters have been rigorously peer reviewed by experts in the field. New to This Edition: *Chapters on rural health, the transition to adult medical care, prevention, and disorders of sex development. *Expanded coverage of epigenetics, eHealth applications, cultural and ethnic diversity, spina bifida, and epilepsy. *Many new authors; extensively revised with the latest information on clinical populations, research methods, and interventions. *Chapters on training and professional competencies, and quality improvement and cost-effectiveness, and international collaborations. See also Clinical Practice of Pediatric Psychology, edited by Michael C. Roberts, Brandon S. Aylward, and Yelena P. Wu, which uses rich case material to illustrate intervention techniques.
Friendships in Childhood and Adolescence by Catherine L. Bagwell; Michelle E. SchmidtHighly readable and comprehensive, this volume explores the significance of friendship for social, emotional, and cognitive development from early childhood through adolescence. The authors trace how friendships change as children age and what specific functions these relationships play in promoting adjustment and well-being. Compelling topics include the effects of individual differences on friendship quality, how friendship quality can be assessed, and ways in which certain friendships may promote negative outcomes. Examining what clinicians, educators, and parents can do to help children who struggle with making friends, the book reviews available interventions and identifies important directions for future work in the field.
The Psychology of the Child by Jean Piaget; Barbel Inhelder; Helen Weaver (Translator)The definite account of psychologist Jean Piaget's work Jean Piaget's influence on psychology has been profound. His pathbreaking investigations and theories of cognitive development have set child psychology moving in entirely new directions. His bold speculations have provided the inspiration for the work of others. His studies have been the subject of many books and countless articles. And, significantly, his influence has spread to other disciplines and is having an ever-growing impact on the general culture at large. Here Jean Piaget, with the assistance of his long-time collaborator Bärbel Inhelder, offers a definitive presentation of the developmental psychology he has elaborated over the last forty years. This comprehensive synthesis traces each stage of the child's cognitive development, over the entire period of childhood, from infancy to adolescence.
Deep Secrets: boys' friendships and the crisis of connection by Niobe Way"Boys are emotionally illiterate and don't want intimate friendships." In this empirically grounded challenge to our stereotypes about boys and men, Niobe Way reveals the intense intimacy among teenage boys especially during early and middle adolescence. Boys not only share their deepest secrets and feelings with their closest male friends, they claim that without them they would go "wacko." Yet as boys become men, they become distrustful, lose these friendships, and feel isolated and alone.Drawing from hundreds of interviews conducted throughout adolescence with black, Latino, white, and Asian American boys, Deep Secrets reveals the ways in which we have been telling ourselves a false story about boys, friendships, and human nature. Boys' descriptions of their male friendships sound more like "something out of Love Story than Lord of the Flies." Yet in late adolescence, boys feel they have to "man up" by becoming stoic and independent. Vulnerable emotions and intimate friendships are for girls and gay men. "No homo" becomes their mantra.These findings are alarming, given what we know about links between friendships and health, and even longevity. Rather than a "boy crisis," Way argues that boys are experiencing a "crisis of connection" because they live in a culture where human needs and capacities are given a sex (female) and a sexuality (gay), and thus discouraged for those who are neither. Way argues that the solution lies with exposing the inaccuracies of our gender stereotypes and fostering these critical relationships and fundamental human skills.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Geographies of Girlhood by Pamela J. Bettis; Natalie G. Adams (Editor)Geographies of Girlhood: Identities In-Betweenexplores how adolescent girls come to understand themselves as female in this culture, particularly during a time when they are learning what it means to be a woman and their identities are in-between that of child and adult, girl and woman. It illuminates the everyday realities of adolescent girls and the real issues that concern them, rather than what adult researchers think is important to adolescent girls. The contributing authors take seriously what girls have to say about themselves and the places and discursive spaces that they inhabit daily. Rather than focusing on girls in the classroom, the book explores adolescent female identity in a myriad of kid-defined spaces both in-between the formal design of schooling, as well as outside its purview--from bedrooms to school hallways to the Internet to discourses of cheerleading, race, sexuality, and ablebodiness. These are the geographies of girlhood, the important sites of identity construction for girls and young women. This book is situated within the fledgling field of Girls Studies. All chapters are based on field research with adolescent girls and young women; hence, the voices of girls themselves are primary in every chapter. All of the authors in the text use the notion of liminality to theorize the in-between spaces and places of schools that are central to how adolescent girls construct a sense of self. The focus of the book on the fluidity of femininity highlights the importance of race, class, sexual orientation, and other salient features of personal identity in discussions of how girls construct gendered identities in different ways. Geographies of Girlhood: Identities In-Betweenchallenges scholars, professionals, and students concerned with gender issues to take seriously the everyday concerns of adolescent girls. It is recommended as a text for education, sociology, and women's studies courses that address these issues. tion for girls and young women. This book is situated within the fledgling field of Girls Studies. All chapters are based on field research with adolescent girls and young women; hence, the voices of girls themselves are primary in every chapter. All of the authors in the text use the notion of liminality to theorize the in-between spaces and places of schools that are central to how adolescent girls construct a sense of self. The focus of the book on the fluidity of femininity highlights the importance of race, class, sexual orientation, and other salient features of personal identity in discussions of how girls construct gendered identities in different ways. Geographies of Girlhood: Identities In-Betweenchallenges scholars, professionals, and students concerned with gender issues to take seriously the everyday concerns of adolescent girls. It is recommended as a text for education, sociology, and women's studies courses that address these issues. ues.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development by Kate C. McLean (Editor); Moin Syed (Editor)Identity is defined in many different ways in various disciplines in the social sciences and sub-disciplines within psychology. The developmental psychological approach to identity is characterized by a focus on developing a sense of the self that is temporally continuous and unified acrossthe different life spaces that individuals inhabit. Erikson proposed that the task of adolescence and young adulthood was to define the self by answering the question: Who Am I? There have been many advances in theory and research on identity development since Erikson's writing over fifty years ago,and the time has come to consolidate our knowledge and set an agenda for future research.The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development represents a turning point in the field of identity development research. Various, and disparate, groups of researchers are brought together to debate, extend, and apply Erikson's theory to contemporary problems and empirical issues. The result is acomprehensive and state-of-the-art examination of identity development that pushes the field in provocative new directions. Scholars of identity development, adolescent and adult development, and related fields, as well as graduate students, advanced undergraduates, and practitioners will find thisto be an innovative, unique, and exciting look at identity development.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2016
The Teenage Brain by Frances E. Jensen; Amy Ellis NuttDrawing on her research, knowledge, and clinical experience, internationally respected neurologist and mother of two boys Frances E. Jensen, MD, offers a revolutionary look at the adolescent brain, providing remarkable insights that translate into practical advice both for parents and teenagers. Driven by the assumption that brain growth was almost complete by the time a child reached puberty, scientists believed for many years that the adolescent brain was essentially an adult one only with fewer miles on it. Over the last decade, however, neurology and neuroscience have revealed that the teen years encompass vitally important stages of brain development. Motivated by her experience of parenting two teenagers, renowned neurologist Frances E. Jensen, MD, gathers what we've discovered about adolescent brain functioning and wiring, and in this groundbreaking, accessible book, explains how these eye-opening findings not only dispel commonly held myths about teens but also yield practical suggestions for adults and teenagers negotiating the mysterious and magical world of adolescent biology. Interweaving clear summary and analysis of research data with anecdotes drawn from her years as a clinician, researcher, and public speaker, Dr. Jensen explores adolescent brain functioning and development in the context of learning and multitasking, stress and memory, sleep, addiction, and decision making. Examining data connecting substance use to lingering memory issues and, sometimes, a lower adult IQ, The Teenage Brain explains why teenagers are not as resilient to the effects of drugs as we previously thought; reveals how multitasking impacts learning ability and concentration; and examines the consequences of stress on mental health during and beyond adolescence. Rigorous yet accessible, warm yet direct, The Teenage Brain sheds new light on the brains and behaviors of adolescents and young adults, and analyzes this knowledge to share specific ways in which parents, educators, and even the legal system can help them navigate their way more smoothly into adulthood in our ever challenging world.
Erikson on Development in Adulthood by Carol Hren HoareErik Erikson (1902-1994) was one of the most eminent and prolific psychologists of the 20th century. Over his long career he published a dozen books, including classics such as Childhood and Society; Identity, Youth, and Crisis; and Young Man Luther . He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and theNational Book Award in 1970 for his biography Gandhi's Truth. It was also in 1970, when he retired from Harvard University, that Erikson began to rethink his earlier theories of development. He became increasingly occupied with the conflicts and challenges of adulthood--a shift from his earlierwritings on the "identity crises" of adolescence.For the past twenty years, Carol Hoare has written extensively on various aspects of Erikson's work. She has been aided by access to Erikson's unpublished papers at Harvard, as well as cooperation with Joan Erikson, the psychologist's wife and longtime collaborator. By reconstructing Erikson'stheory of adulthood from his unpublished papers, Hoare provides not only a much-needed revision of Erikson's work, but also a glimpse into the mind of one of the 20th century's most profound thinkers.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2001
The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving in Adulthood by Paul Verhaeghen (Editor); Christopher K. Hertzog (Editor)Over the last decade, the field of socio-emotional development and aging has rapidly expanded, with many new theories and empirical findings emerging. This trend is consistent with the broader movement in psychology to consider social, motivational, and emotional influences on cognition andbehavior.The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving in Adulthood provides the first overview of a new field of adult development that has emerged out of conceptualizations and research at the intersections between socioemotional development, social cognition, emotion, coping, andeveryday problem solving. This field roundly rejects a universal deficit model of aging, highlighting instead the dynamic nature of socio-emotional development and the differentiation of individual trajectories of development as a function of variation in contextual and experiential influences. Itemphasizes the need for a cross-level examination (from biology and neuroscience to cognitive and social psychology) of the determinants of emotional and socio-emotional behavior.This volume also serves as a tribute to the late Fredda Blanchard-Fields, whose thinking and empirical research contributed extensively to a life-span developmental view of emotion, problem solving, and social cognition. Its chapters cover multiple aspects of adulthood and aging, presentingdevelopmental perspectives on emotion; antecedents and consequences of emotion in context; everyday problem solving; social cognition; goals and goal-related behaviors; and wisdom. The landmark volume in this new field, The Oxford Handbook of Emotion, Social Cognition, and Problem Solving inAdulthood is an important resource for cognitive, developmental, and social psychologists, as well as researchers and graduate students in the field of aging, emotion studies, and social psychology.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Personality in Adulthood: a five-factor theory perspective 2nd ed. by Robert R. McCrae; Paul T. CostaThis influential work examines how enduring dispositions or traits affect the process of aging and shape each individual’s life course. From two well-known authorities in the field, the volume is grounded in a growing body of empirical evidence. Critically reviewing different theories of personality and adult development, the authors explain the logic behind the scientific assessment of personality, present a comprehensive model of trait structure, and examine patterns of trait stability and change after age 30, incorporating data from ongoing cross-sectional and longitudinal studies. Written in a clear, jargon-free style, this book is an ideal text for advanced students and a timely reference for researchers and clinicians.
Grief and Loss Across the Lifespan:: a biopsychosocial perspective by Carolyn Ambler Walter; Judith L. M. McCoydThis unique text for undergraduate and master's-level social work and counseling courses on loss, grief, and bereavement is distinguished by its biopsychosocial perspective and developmental framework. The book addresses grieving patterns and intervention strategies according to the life trajectory and provides clinical intervention tools and strategies for coping according to the developmental stage of an individual. It incorporates losses beyond death loss, with special focus on losses related to maturational development. The second edition reflects new research that has clarified and underscored the value of theories examined in the first edition√>=particularly in the areas of continued bonds, disenfranchised grief, and ambiguous grief. It describes how grieving is influenced by biological responses to stress, psychological responses to loss, and social norms and support networks. The second edition includes significant new information on trauma and resilience and addresses the use of mindfulness practices with grief and loss. It focuses on the changing role of technology including expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums. Updated information is provided regarding hospice and palliative care as well as housing issues in aging. A completely new chapter examines grief and loss counseling with emerging adults, and updates regarding changes in the DSM-5 are included. Additional new features include chapter objectives, discussion questions, and updated resources, and an Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides are available for download. New to the Second Edition: New information on trauma and resilience Using mindfulness practices with grief and loss Updated theory and empirical findings The changing role of technology in grief Expressions of grief and loss in social media and public forums Transitions due to economic and health changes Changes in the DSM-5 New chapter on emerging adults (ages 18√ 25) New information on hospice, palliative care, and aging Housing issues in aging and disability New information on issues facing young and older U.S. veterans and families Updated resources Chapter objectives and discussion questions Instructor's Manual and PowerPoint slides Key Features: Uses a developmental framework for grief and loss Incorporates notions of loss beyond death, including unique maturational losses Integrates new grief theories with empirical findings and intervention techniques Utilizes neurobiological and biological information within a counseling text Focuses on nonpathologizing approaches to sadness, loss, and grief
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
Women in the Middle by Elaine M. BrodyWomen in the Middle was so-named because daughters, who are the main caregivers to elderly disabled parents, are caught in the middle of multiple competing demands on their time and energy. Since the first edition, women's responsibilities and the pressures they have experienced have increased and intensified. Dr. Brody revisits this phenomenon in this new, updated edition of her ground-breaking work. Gain an insider's view of the harsh and sometimes joyful experience of caregiving presented by case studies and narratives. Dr. Brody describes and discusses the caregiving women's subjective feelings, experiences, problems, and the effects on their mental and physical well-being, life styles, relationships, and vocational activities. A SPRINGER PAPERBACK
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2004
Narrative Gerontology in Research and Practice by Kate De MedeirosWhat is meant by narrative? How can one elicit a narrative or analyze it in research? How can narrative work best be facilitated among older adults? This is the only text to provide comprehensive information about the applications of narrative approaches in community and long-term settings, writing in the virtual world, and such individual work as journaling or poetry. The book explores the theories of narratives across many disciplines, research practices and analytical strategies, and applications in work with older adults. It has been written by a prominent researcher of the narrative construction of self in old age, whose studies have been funded by the NIH, the Brookdale Foundation, and the Alzheimeris Association, among other related achievements. The book brings together a unique blend of interdisciplinary perspectives and practices not found in other books on life stories, autobiography, and/or narrative approaches to understanding oneis experiences. Specifically, it focuses on the myriad theoretical underpinnings of narrative, provides a developmental history of narrative use in gerontology, and details various ways to use narratives in a variety of research settings. Each chapter includes step-by-step guides on who to analyze and report on, and how to write up narrative data. It also discusses ways to incorporate narratives in varied practice settings such as writing workshops in retirement communities, individual writing projects, and others. Key Features: Offers a ihands oni research tool that guides the reader from theory to research to practice Describes the theoretical underpinnings and practical applications of narrative with older adults Illustrates how narrative gerontology is fundamentally different in practice than narrative research with younger participants Addresses the breadth of available narrative methods and how to apply them in a research settings Designed for use in qualitative methods, service learning, and gerontological research courses.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2013
Baby Boomers of Color by Melvin DelgadoBecause researchers often treat baby boomers of color as belonging to one group, quality data on the individual status of specific racial populations is lacking, leading to insufficiently designed programs, policies, and services. The absence of data is a testament to the invisibility of baby boomers of color in society and deeply affects the practice of social work and other helping professions that require culturally sensitive approaches. Melvin Delgado rectifies this injustice by providing a comprehensive portrait of the status and unique assets of boomers of color. Using specific data, he grounds an understanding of boomers'financial, medical, and emotional needs within a historical, socioeconomic, cultural, and political context, resulting in tailored recommendations for meeting the challenges of a growing population. His research focuses on African American, Hispanic, Asian/Pacific Islander, and Native American older adults and addresses issues of financial security, employment stability, housing, and health care, which are often complicated by linguistic and cultural differences. Rather than treat baby boomers of color as a financial burden on society and its resources, Delgado recognizes their strengths and positive contributions to families and communities, resulting in an affirming and empowering approach to service.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging by Steven David (Editor); Tara Rose (Editor); Douglas KimmelLesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging brings together cutting-edge research, practical information, and innovative thinking regarding the characteristics and processes of aging among lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. Written by experts in the field, the book covers a range of subjects and provides a comprehensive knowledge base for practitioners, students, and researchers. Contributors address topics such as sexuality, relationships, legal issues, retirement planning, physical and mental health, substance abuse, community needs, gay and lesbian grandparents, and a model agency dedicated to delivering services to the senior LGBT population. Their writing takes a gay-affirmative approach that focuses on resilience, coping, and successful adaptation to aging and is sensitive to the importance of historical oppression in the lives of older members of sexual minorities. The authors also pay close attention to ethnic and cultural issues and identify where further research is needed. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Aging is a groundbreaking collection of some of the most significant voices in this area of research today. Gerontologists and those who serve the LGBT community are in great need of the information contained in this singular and definitive resource.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2006
Coping with Aging by Richard S. Lazarus; Bernice N. LazarusCoping with Aging is the final project of the late Richard S. Lazarus, the man whose landmark book Emotion and Adaptation put the study of emotion in play in the field of psychology. In this volume, Lazarus examines the experience of aging from the standpoint of the individual, rather than as merely a collection of statistics and charts. This technique is in line with his long-standing belief that experiences should be looked at in their specific contexts, rather than squeezed into an overly general statistical viewpoint that loses the subjects' motivations. Drawing on his five decades of pioneering research, Lazarus looks at aging, emotion, and coping, and stability and change in both environment and personality. Because Lazarus mixes academic rigor with everyday examples, this volume will be both useful to scholars and accessible to the lay audience that has so much gain from a systematic understanding of aging and emotion.