Local Digitized Newspapers
The W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive serves as a repository for archived newspapers printed in Montevallo and Shelby County, Ala., particularly in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Newspaper Library Databases
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new windowContains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial
- African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers (1827-1998), a full text collection of historical newspapers, provides "a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life."
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
Library of Congress Chronicling America Digitized Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more
