Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Upward Bound History Research: Newspapers

Newspaper Library Databases

Carmichael Library Milner Archives Newspapers

  • Alabamian.  University of Montevallo school newspaper 
  • Scrapbook Collection  The Scrapbook Collection is collection of newspaper clippings from 1915-1995. Each clipping is the original newspaper story. The university librarians clipped newsworthy stories about the school from local newspapers and glued the clippings in a series of scrapbooks. The University of Montevallo National Foundation Board awarded a grant to the Carmichael Library in 2013 to digitize the scrapbooks. The original print scrapbooks are in the Milner Archives.
  • W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive The W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive serves as a repository for archived newspapers printed in Montevallo and Shelby County, Ala., particularly in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. As this digital archive expands, newsprints appearing in various formats will be added.
    This collection is made possible by a gift from Clayton M. Nordan (M.A. ’76).

Library of Congress Chronicling America Digitized Newspapers

 

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Learn more

 

Find Help with your research

We are happy to help you with your research!