It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Entries on terms used in media and communication, from concepts and theories to technical terms, across subject areas that include advertising, digital culture, journalism, new media, radio studies, and telecommunications.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. | Watch Video Tutorial
Straightforward access to 1,000 grammatical terms and their meanings. All the currently accepted terms of grammar are included, as well as older, traditional names, controversial new coinages, and items from the study of other languages.
Abbreviations and acronyms in alphabetical and numerical order, including currencies, astronomical signs and symbols, atomic numbers, and stocks codes, as well as computer, country, financial, medical, military, police, publishing, railway, scientific, technical, transportation, and United Nations abbreviations and acronyms.
Covers over 6,000 names in common use in English, including the traditional and the very newest. It tells you the age, origin, and meaning of the name, as well as how it has fared in terms of popularity, and who the famous fictional or historical bearers of the name have been.
A global handbook of countries. Each country entry includes a brief history and an outline of contemporary social, economic, political, and religious issues, maps, data and statistics on languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and income levels.
Includes thousands of quotes under 700 themes. For example, under the entry politicians a wide variety of quotations appear, from Shakespeare, through Curzon and Churchill, to references to John Major and Paddy Ashdown.
Full of synonyms, alternatives, and a fascinating network of cross-references, reflecting both technical and day-to-day aspects of Modern English. It is designed to appeal to both established word-reference enthusiasts and younger users who are just beginning to explore the language.
A thoroughly revised and expanded edition of Britannica's most popular publication worldwide. Comprehensive and engaging, the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia contains 28,000 articles. The Britannica Concise Encyclopedia has comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more.
Print Reference Sources in Communication Studies
Here's a partial list of print reference sources in English Literary Criticism that the Carmichael Library owns. To locate these books, look on the main floor stacks that are labled "Reference." Or, you can search online. When searching in the online catalogue, you'll be able to identify reference sources by the Ref. that prefaces each call number.
If you have any problems finding sources, stop by the reference desk, which is at the main floor of the library.
Free Online Reference Sources for Communication and Media Study
There are numbers of quality free online reference resources. Instead of playing Google Roulette, start (but do not end) with some of these resources in your research process. This is a partial list of resources available.