News from local sources
Al.com
Alabama Media Group includes the digital edition of the Birmingham News
Weld for Birmingham
Source for news and entertainment in Birmingham
Alabama Political Reporter
Independent, non-partisan media company
Citation
- OWL (Purdue University)The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University is an invaluable resource when you have questions about different citations and writing styles.
Library has copy in the Reference Collection on 1st floor
Ref. PN 203 .G53 2016
ILL
- Interlibrary LoanUse Interlibrary Loan to find books we don't have at Carmichael Library.
Primary Sources
"A primary source provides direct or firsthand evidence about an event, object, person, or work of art. Primary sources include historical and legal documents, eyewitness accounts, results of experiments, statistical data, pieces of creative writing, audio and video recordings, speeches, and art objects. Interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and Internet communications via email, blogs, listservs, and newsgroups are also primary sources. In the natural and social sciences, primary sources are often empirical studies—research where an experiment was performed or a direct observation was made. The results of empirical studies are typically found in scholarly articles or papers delivered at conferences."
Ithaca College Library
From the Library of Congress:
Library of Congress : What Makes a Primary Source a Primary Source?
Library of Congress: Using Primary Sources
University of Montevallo digitized primary sources
Hints to find primary source material
- Add the term digital archive to a Google search
- Use WorldCat Local, the library's online catalog. Include the keywords or phrases below in your WorldCat search to locate primary sources:
- Personal narratives
- Diaries
- Correspondence
- Sources
- Records
- Letters
Library Databases to consider for academic research and brainstorming
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of a wide range of business journals, including over 1,100 peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial - New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial - ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowContains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowOffers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
**Access is limited to 4 users at a time
Background information from reliable library databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference provides access to the cross-searchable full text of approximately 700 different reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, chronologies, etc.).
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows cross-searching of prestigious reference works published by Oxford University Press. | Watch Video Tutorial
Past and Present
Use Google to find past information : Your Topic AND Digital Archives
- New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2016. | Watch Video Tutorial
General Information from reliable web sources
- Census.govThe Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly.
Google Your Topic and add site :.gov
Example: Vegetarianism and site:.gov
For Help
Kathleen Lowe MLS
lowek@montevallo.edu
Office is in Carmichael Library 1st floor
Tips and Tricks
Google Search Tips
To find only government sources, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.gov
Example:
Climate Change :.gov
To find only organizations, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.org
Example:
Climate change:.org
To find only sites created by schools and colleges and universities, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.edu
Example:
Climate change:.edu
