Discovery search box
Citation Help
- OWL (Purdue University)The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University is an invaluable resource when you have questions about different citations and writing styles.
MLA HandbookCall Number: Reference Collection First Floor PN203 .G53 2016ISBN: 1603292624Publication Date: 2016
Campus Contacts for direct source
Mr. Carey Heatherly, Associate Professor, Archivist
heatherlycw@montevallo.edu
Office : Ground Floor of the library
Phone: 665-6107
Mr. Coty Jones
Director of Physical Plant
Office: Police Department
Phone: 665-6130
Information Services & Technology
Mr. Craig R. Gray, Chief Information Officer
Jenny Bell
jbell8@montevallo.edu
Student Life
Politicians for a direct source
- Senator Richard ShelbyContact information for Alabama Senator
- Congressman Gary PalmerRepresent Alabama's 6th District
(Includes Montevallo, Alabaster and Calera) - Find Your Representative in CongressUse your zip code to find your congressman or congresswoman.
- State Senator Cam WardMr. Ward represents Alabama Senate District 14. This includes Bibb County, Chilton County, Hale County, Jefferson County, Shelby County
- Alabama House Representative Matt FridyMr. Fridy represents House District 73. Includes Shelby County. Mr. Fridy is a graduate of the University of Montevallo.
- Find your Alabama Senator and House RepresentativeUse your address or zip code to find your Alabama State Senator and House Representative.
- Mayor of Montevallo Holly C. CostContact the Mayor of Montevallo
Feedback
Suggested search terms to locate books on your topic
Keywords
Higher education
Deferred maintenance
Repairs and Costs
College student life
College student orientation
College costs
College students nutrition
College students mental health
Montevallo
Alabama College
College students legal status
Universities and colleges security measures
ILL
- Interlibrary LoanUse Interlibrary Loan to find books we don't have at Carmichael Library.
Library Databases to consider for your journal source
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for journals and ERIC documents in areas relating to education at all levels. | Watch video tutorial
Keywords to consider using in ERIC and Academic Search Premier databases
College students
Undergraduate students
Dormitories
Dining facilities
Student Unions
College environment
Crime
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes ProQuest Global Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2014)
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage of 270 topics with overviews, point and counterpoint essays, and Critical Thinking Guides for further research.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.
Tips and Tricks to find direct sources and Eresources
Google Search Tips
To find only government sources, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.gov
Example:
Campus crime :.gov
To find only organizations, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.org
Example:
Campus crime :.org
To find only sites created by schools and colleges and universities, try adding this at the end of your search terms :.edu
Example:
Campus crimes:.edu
Montevallo campus and culture : Print resources
Montevallo: the First One Hundred Years
Circulation F334 .M68 M47
(additional copies on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)
The Lives and Times of Kingswood in Alabama 1817-1890
On Reserve at the Circulation Desk
Alabama College 1896-1969
Circulation LD353 .G7
(additional copies on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)
White Columns & Red Brick: The University of Montevallo Buildings
Circulation LD3544.5 .G75 1988
(additional copies on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)
Montevallo
Circulation F334 .M68 M66 2011
(additional copies on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)
Years Rich & Fruitful: University of Montevallo 1896 -1996
Circulation LD 3543 .T 57 1996
(additional copies on Reserve at the Circulation Desk)
Montevallo Campus and Culture : Eresources
- The AlabamianSchool newspaper
- Campus Roads and Walks to Be PavedThe Alabamian, December 5, 1933
- Scrapbook CollectionA collection of newspaper cuttings about the school collected by librarians from 1915-1995. Some are digitized. Consult Mr. Carey Heatherly, Archivist for assistance.
- University of Montevallo Milner ArchivesThe Digital collection highlights both the academic and campus life of students through course catalogs, yearbooks, and various pamphlets. Contents include all yearbooks, ranging from 1907-2010, and bulletins, from 1895-1941.
- W.M. "Mack" Wyatt Digital ArchiveThe W.M. “Mack” Wyatt Digital Archive serves as a repository for archived newspapers printed in Montevallo and Shelby County, Ala., particularly in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. As this digital archive expands, newsprints appearing in various formats will be added.
- Yearbooks1907 - 2010
Suggestions for an Eresource
Al.com
Alabama Media Group includes the digital edition of the Birmingham News
Weld for Birmingham
Source for news and entertainment in Birmingham
Alabama Political Reporter
Independent, non-partisan media company
For Help
Kathleen Lowe MLS
lowek@montevallo.edu
Office is in Carmichael Library 1st floor
