Vital Speeches of the Day
Vital Speeches of the Day includes transcripts from speeches covering a wide range of topics beginning with the October 8, 1934 issues. You can search this title through Academic Search Premier or browse it directly through the link above.
Resource Profile: Scholarly Articles
Photo by allie(tm) at Flickr
How can you tell if a journal article is scholarly? Often journals will have editorial policies and submission guidelines(in print or on the journal website) that tell you whether or not a journal is scholarly. Some database search engines allow you to limit your searches to peer reviewed journals.
How are scholarly journal articles different from regular articles? Scholarly articles go through a process called peer review. Articles are only published if other expertsagree that the article contributes to the field.
Searching for Communication and Media Articles
Carmichael Library subscribes to many databases that contain resources which will help you prepare for your COMS assignments. You can view the complete Database A-Z listing here or click one of the links below. The following is a list of some recommended databases to start with as you're researching your speech topic.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowCoverage of 270 topics with overviews, point and counterpoint essays, and Critical Thinking Guides for further research.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. The new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers journals in communications and mass media, including communication studies and communication science and disorders
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes both the Arts & Sciences and Language & Literature Collections. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, literary criticism, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection is an interdisciplinary collection of nearly 350 high quality, peer reviewed journals concentrated in the humanities and social sciences. | Access the User Guide (with video tutorials)
Sources for Local News
- Alabama News Sources This link opens in a new windowResearch diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.I Watch a tutorial on how to use the platform.
Cite your sources!
"Citations 2" by fixedandfrailing (CC BY-SA 2.0)
One of the basic rules of library research is that you must cite the sources you draw on for information! Citation styles vary, depending on the field you are working in. Carmichael Library has developed a handy research guide to help you cite your sources, and we are happy to help you with citation questions. Please make use of our Citation Guide, and when in doubt, feel free to ask a librarian!
Get Help
We are happy to help you with your research! Chat with us using the blue chat box in the right corner of your screen. 💬 ↘️
- Email us
- Meet with us
- Call us: 205-665-6100
- Visit us: 1st Floor Research Help Desk
