EXNS 483 Nutrition Care Process I

Coverage: PubMed includes about 30,000 journals, many of which are not currently indexed in the database. Around 7,700 current biomedical journals are picked up in PubMed, and more than 3,300 of these are available full text (in PubMed Central). Along with a wide range of types of articles, some books and other kinds of materials are also included in PubMed. 

Use this link to see if a particular journal title is covered in PubMed. You can also enter a strange journal abbreviation there to get the full title!

Searching: To do a simple search, PubMed recommends the following steps:

1. Identify the key concepts for your search. 
2. Enter the terms (or key concepts) in the search box.
3. Press the Enter key or click Search.

PubMed uses algorithms to match concepts and return relevant results, and includes autocomplete and spellcheck features. If you get too many results, try using more specific terms, adding concepts, or using the filters in the sidebar to restrict results by publication date, full text availability, article type, and more.

Advanced Searching: PubMed also offers advanced search options that tap into their extensive Medical Subject Headings and multiple limit options. The Advanced Search Builder guides you through this process. Before you try out the advanced search, you may want to review this video.

Cite, Save and Share: There are easily visible options to cite articles in several formats; save citations to a text file; email articles to yourself; generate a permalink for a particular article; and copy a link to return to your search results later. 

  
MeSH reviewers read articles before they go into MEDLINE and assign appropriate subject headings to the article.  These subject headings from a pre-set list (or vocabulary).  MeSH applies one term to a collection of concepts - even if that exact term is not used in the article. 

MeSH Browser
​Try using the MeSH Browser to locate the best term to search in PubMed

MeSH Database 
Launching PubMed searches from the MeSH database

To build a PubMed search from MeSH:

1. Run a search in the MeSH database.
2. Select terms using the check boxes.
3. Click "Add to search builder" in the PubMed search builder portlet.
4. You may continue searching and including additional terms to the PubMed search builder using the "Add to search builder" and Boolean pull-down menu.
5. When you are finished, click "Search PubMed."

MeSH Heading

Nutrition Therapy

Scope Note

Improving health status of an individual by adjusting the quantities, qualities, and methods of nutrient intake.

 

 

MeSH Heading

Diet, Diabetic

Annotation

a specific dietary regimen for diabetics: not all diet therapy of diabetes is DIABETIC DIET; when specified by author as a diabetic diet, coordinate with DIABETES MELLITUS / diet ther (IM) or specific type of diabetes / diet ther (IM) + specific dietary element / ther use (IM)

Scope Note

A course of food intake prescribed for patients, that limits the amount of foods with a high GLYCEMIC INDEX.

 

 

MeSH Heading

Nutritional Support

Scope Note

The administration of nutrients for assimilation and utilization by a patient by means other than normal eating. It does not include FLUID THERAPY which normalizes body fluids to restore WATER-ELECTROLYTE BALANCE.

 

Additional MeSH Terms to consider:

Disease Management

Diet Therapy