Skip to main content

MUS 342 Music History, 19th Century - Present

Best Bet : Articles in Library Databases

Best Bet! Use the library databases listed below or the Discovery Search Box to locate scholarly articles and essays in music journals. No full text? No problem!  Use Interlibrary Loan to request full text articles.  

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. It facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels from classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.

Historical Abstracts 
Historical Abstracts is the definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Indexing thousands of journals in over 40 languages, it is an invaluable bibliographic database for history students.

America History and Life 
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing hundreds of journals, it is an invaluable bibliographic database for history students. 

New York Times, Historical 
Contains citations, abstracts and full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2008

Ethnic News Watch 
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

Discovery Search Box

Find Books, Articles + More at UM Library:

Advanced Search

Limit Your Results

RILM