Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIO 205 Ecology

Edward O. Wilson and the Half-Earth Project

Data Sources for Ecology

EPA Environmental Data Set Gateway
The Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG) provides a single point to discover and access EPA's Open Data resources.

Ecological Data Wiki
This site is intended to serve as a source for identifying datasets that are useful to the study of ecology and quickly figuring out the best ways to use them. The idea is to use the knowlege and effort of the entire ecological community to compile this information rather than relying on each scientist to contribute information for their own studies. Just think of it as the Wikipedia of ecology data.

National Invasive Species Information Center. (NISIC). US Department of Agriculture
The National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) was established in 2005 at the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA's) National Agricultural Library (NAL)(link is external) to meet the information needs of users, including the National Invasive Species Council (Council)(link is external). NAL is the nation’s primary resource for agricultural information and is one of five national libraries in the U.S. NAL also serves as the Library of the USDA. 

PLANTS Database
. USDA. NSCC

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. This information primarily promotes land conservation in the United States and its territories, but academic, educational, and general use is encouraged. 
 

The USA National Phenology Network 
The USA National Phenology Network consists of a National Coordinating Office (NCO), thousands of volunteer observers and many partners, including research scientists, resource managers, educators, and policy-makers.

USDA Ag Data Commons
The Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA. 

USDA Soil Survey 
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. 

Vert-Net
VertNet takes four classic vertebrate networks (FishNet, MaNIS, HerpNET, ORNIS), to combine them into a single integrated data portal.