Finding books and other items at UM
Use the Discovery search box as a portal for library material including books and articles on your topic (in English and Spanish). You can use the facets to limit your search by source type, date, language, and even database.
Discovery Search Box
Finding articles in specific databases
In addition to searching in the Discovery search box, you may wish to look in some specific databases, depending on your topic. Here are some databases that may be useful to you.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Informe Académico This link opens in a new windowThe full-text of popular Hispanic magazines (primarily in Spanish), from 1999 to the present.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary resource that includes full-text articles from several thousand journals, in virtually every area of academic study.
- ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use Google's search capability to locate scholarly materials. Click the instructions icon (blue book) to learn how to link Google Scholar to the library's resources. This will allow you to access more full-text articles and place interlibrary loan requests.
Find other potentially useful databases, depending on your topic, in the UM Databases list.
Finding books beyond the UM library
It's a big world out there, and we're a small university. Perhaps the easiest way to search for books beyond UM is to use the WorldCat database.
- Worldcat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Use this database to search for books, articles, videos, sound recordings, etc., in other libraries.
Use Interlibrary Loan
Since no library can carry everything, Interlibrary Loan allows you access to materials held throughout the state, country, and world - for FREE! You should see an Interlibrary Loan option in our Discovery or WorldCat systems when you pull up items our library does not have. Additionally, you may see ILL options in online databases like Google Scholar (if you follow these one-time set-up instructions) and PubMed. To set up an account or manually fill out a request, visit our Interlibrary Loan page.
