It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examine the Journal: does it have an abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, and references? Are the articles written by scholarly researchers in the field that the journal pertains to? Is advertising non-existent, or kept to a minimum?
Finding your Articles
There are a number of databases at Carmichael library that will help you find sources for your paper. Please select one from below to begin searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed content. Use keywords from your research topic to craft your search:
Offers peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in the areas of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.
The library has access to many other peer-reviewed journals that have Social Work content.
Introduction and Literature Review Paper (2 -3 pages)
This assignment is the opening to your research project and serves as the background for why your research question should be studied and what has already been studied recently. It includes an introduction to the topic, purpose or rationale for the study, significance of the study, and a review of the literature.
What IS a research question?
clear: it provides enough specifics that your audience can easily understand its purpose without needing additional explanation.
focused: it is narrow enough that it can be answered thoroughly in the space allowed
concise: it is expressed in the fewest possible words.
complex: it is not answerable with a simple “yes” or “no,” but rather requires synthesis and analysis of ideas and sources prior to composition of an answer.
arguable: its potential answers are open to debate rather than accepted facts.