CSD 549 Zotero Guide: Home

1. Download and install Zotero: www.zotero.com

• The computer will ask you:  Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device?  Answer NO (it will install anyway). 
• Also download and install the Zotero connector for Chrome.
• Create an account (at zotero.com > login > register) if you wish to sync or share files.

Zotero should launch automatically when you install it.  If it doesn’t, open it from the desktop.   

• Tip: Go under Edit > Preferences and uncheck “Automatically tag items with keywords”

2. Add references

• Zotero works with databases of all sorts.  

Go to PubMed (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=aluomlib) in Chrome.

Sample search: stroke dysphagia and electrical stimulation

• Click on the Zotero icon to add the page to your resources
• Note the differences in folders  vs. individual items  or  (icon changes).
  • When you access search results pages on many databases and sites, the Zotero icon displays as a folder (for example: UM's library search, PubMed, Academic Search Premier, and Google Scholar).
  • When you click on the folder, a pop-up window will appear that allows you to select multiple items from the search result screen to save to Zotero.

Go to Google (google.com) in Chrome  

Sample search: stroke dysphagia

• Note the differences between articles  vs. webpages  vs. videos  (icon changes).

3. Add information to your references within Zotero

• When you go into Zotero and click on a citation, you get the full info to the right.
• Click the drop-down arrow to see if full text is available.
• Add notes
• Add tags

4. Add a reference manually

• Click the green + icon  to add an item: ex. Dysphagia following stroke, by Stephanie K. Daniels (San Diego: Plural, 2014)
• Click the Wand + icon   to enter the DOI or ISBN and Zotero will add the rest: Try 9781597565448
• You can also attach a file to a reference (note: the free version has a size limit).

• With your library or collection folder open, drag and drop your pdf. In most cases, Zotero analyses the PDF and automatically adds the reference information.
• If the reference information is not automatically added, you can manually add it on the Info tab.

5. Create folders (collections) to organize information

• My Library is the master list. 
• Click the folder + icon  to create a collection, then select and move references over from My Library.
• To further organize within a folder, right click on a collection folder and select New Subcollection.

6. Add a PDF to your library or collection

• With your library or collection folder open, drag and drop your pdf. In most cases, Zotero analyses the PDF and automatically adds the reference information.
• If the reference information is not automatically added, you can manually add it on the Info tab.

7. Cite your sources automatically in Word

• Look for the Zotero tab in Microsoft Word.
• When you need to insert a citation, click that tab!
• Click Add/Edit Citation > Classic View … and select the citation to insert
• Tip: Make sure you are using the app (or desktop) version of Word, not the online version. If you have not already downloaded the Word app, use these instructions.

8. Generate a bibliography

• In Microsoft Word, select the Zotero tab and click Add/Edit Bibliography.
• In Zotero, select references, right click, and select Create Bibliography from Items. This can be done at the collection and subcollection folder level. Or you hold the control key and select multiple items from your library or within a collection.

9. Collaborate and sync files

• To create a group or sync files, you need to create a Zotero account and log in.
• In Zotero, sync collections using the green circular arrow  in the top right corner.
  • The first time you do this, you’ll be asked to open sync preferences and sign in.
• At Zotero.org, create a group if you wish:
  • Groups > [Name it] > Create Group
  • To invite members, look under “Member Settings”