Skip to Main Content

Distance Education

Library resources for distance education students.

PubMed

Accessing Full-text Articles in PubMed

Just like Google Scholar, PubMed is linked to our library resources. On each article record, you will see a button that looks like this: PubMed, Search UM Library

When you click this button, you will be linked to

  • the full-text of the article (if UM library has access to it) OR
  • to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form to request the article to be emailed to you (if UM doesn't have the article but another library does)

For the PubMed integration to work, you must use a PubMed url that is unique to UM (which is listed below). You can save this to your bookmarks, or you can access this anytime under our Databases listing (follow this path: go to the library homepage ->click Databases (button)->click P ->click PubMed). 

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=aluomlib

Watch this video for a brief demonstration.

 

 

Important Note: You may see other full-text buttons on PubMed records. Sometimes these vendor buttons provide access to the full-text and other times they include the abstract and/or ordering information to pay for the article. In other words, sometimes full-text does not mean free full-text. If you click the vendor button and discover that you don't have free full-text access, click the back arrow on your browser and then click the "Search UM Library" button. This will search our library collections and either result in a link to full-text or an ILL request for the article.

When searching in PubMed, keep it simple. Use a few key words connected with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT). And avoid constructing searching with many words or in full sentences. PubMed searching is very different than Google searching in this way.

To learn how to conduct a basic search in PubMed, watch these brief videos. The first video demonstrates how conduct a basic search in PubMed. And the second video explains how to can use Boolean operators to connect and refine your search terms.

 

 

 

Want to learn more about searching in PubMed? Watch these brief "how to" videos.

"Online Research: Tips for Effective Search Strategies" by Sarah Clark is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0.

Get the Citation

After clicking on an article to review it, you will be taken to the article record page. Look in the right hand column under "Actions" and then click the "Cite" button. Find the drop-down and select the format (citation style). Click copy, then paste it into your document.

screenshot of cite button and citation window

 

Save the Link

You can save the url of an article record by using the address in the browser bar, that will look similar to the one below.

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31154887/Links to an external site.

Or, you can find the share section on the right of the page, click the link icon, and click copy.

Screenshot of link icon selected and link window showing

 

Email the Article Record

There is also an option to email the article record to yourself. Look near the top of the screen for the email button. Click it, enter your email address, and click the "send email" button.

screenshot of email button highlighted with the email window open

 

 

© 2022 University of Montevallo