ALA Resources
As stated on their website, the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) "is charged with implementing ALA policies concerning the concept of intellectual freedom as embodied in the Library Bill of Rights, the Association’s basic policy on free access to libraries and library materials." The links below will take you to the OIF homepage, the Library Bill of Rights, the Freedom to Read Statement, as well as a blog maintained by the OIF which contains the latest news and developments on issues related to censorship and intellectual freedom.
Websites for Children's Literature
- Children's Literature Association Web Links
The CLA Scholarly Resources page contains links to resources on the history of children's literature, genres, multicultural issues, folklore, and censorship. - Cooperative Children's Book Center
The Cooperative Children's Book Center is a joint project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Education and Wisconsin Department of Instruction. It features booklists and intellectual freedom resources. And it sponsors the annual Charlotte Zolotow Award and CCBC Choices lists. - TeachingBooks
TeachingBooks is a resource made available throughout the state by the Alabama Virtual Library (AVL). This searchable database includes a variety of resources linked to books such as videos, lesson plans, book guides, award information, and text complexity notations. Users can also create custom interactive reading lists and differentiated lesson plans. - Worlds of Words
Worlds of Words is a global children's literature site provided by the University of Arizona.
Associations & Organizations
- Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC)
Find information about awards, information about national children's literature initiatives, online resources for kids, and advocacy resources on the ALSC website. - Children's Book Council
A national nonprofit association for children’s trade book publishers with a mission of "supporting the industry and promoting children's books and reading". - Children's Literature AssociationThe Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children. ChLA publishes Children's Literature and Children's Literature Association Quarterly.
- Children's Literature Assembly
The Children's Literature Assembly is a professional organization affiiated with the National Council of Teachers of English. - International Literacy Association
Formerly the International Reading Association, the ILA is an organization of literacy professionals. - Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators
The SCBWI is a non-profit organization for those "who write, illustrate, or translate for children and young adults". - Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
Find book awards and booklists, events in children's literature, kits for children's literature events, and information about publications.
Awards in Children's Literature
ALA Awards:
Other Award Lists:
- Cooperative Children's Book Center Awards & Lists: Charlotte Zolotow Award and CCBC Choices
A searchable database of award winners. Includes a calendar of awards.
