Skip to main content

New Faculty FAQ: Home

New Faculty FAQ

Library FAQ for New Faculty
 

1. When is the library open?    

Monday – Wednesday:       7:30 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Thursday: 7:30 a.m. to midnight
Friday:     7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturday:                                   1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sunday:       2:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m.

Hours vary during final exams, between semesters, and in the summer.

2. Who works in the library?

Seven librarians, 5 staff members, and around 30 student workers keep the library up and running! Our contact information can be found on the library website, under About Us, Departments & Staff.

Charlotte Ford is the Library Director

Kathy Lowe is Head of Reference and Anna Mary Williford is the Reference and Instruction Librarian

Carey Heatherly is the University Archivist and Reference Librarian

Amanda Melcher is Head of Technical Services, and Joel Bullock is the Cataloging Assistant 

Michael Price is the Digital Media & Emerging Technologies Librarian

Sheila Brandt is the Systems & Digital Services Librarian

Kaycee Ledbetter is the Circulation Manager, and Urist McCauley is the Evening Supervisor

Sam Shuskey coordinates Interlibrary Loan, and Beta Walker is the Library’s Admin Assistant

3. How can I request instruction for a class? 
Carmichael Library collaborates with faculty to instill lifelong learning skills that students can use in their courses and apply beyond the University.  The Library offers more than 200 information literacy and digital literacy sessions each year, across the curriculum!  Faculty can request instruction via our online form or contact Kathy Lowe (205-665-6109) or Anna Mary Williford (205-665-6108) directly. General instruction, subject-specific instruction, and specialized sessions using digital media or archival materials are all available. Library instruction and support for online classes is also available, in synchronous or asynchronous modes.


4. How can I find and check out books and other items from the library?
The library’s Discovery System (the main search box on the library webpage) is the portal to books and other materials; there is also a link to the library catalog via WorldCat.  Most circulating books are on the 2nd floor of the library and may be checked out for the academic year, with renewal possible if no one else has requested the book.  Loan periods for other items vary.  To check out materials, simply present your UM ID card at the circulation desk. If you have questions, contact Kaycee Ledbetter in the circulation department: 205-665-6101 or circulation@montevallo.edu.


5. What databases does the library have, and can I access them from off-campus?
The library subscribes to approximately 125 online databases which provide access to a wide variety of publications, including journals, magazines, newspapers and e-books.  A full listing of databases is on the library’s web site under Databases.  There are also lists by subject area.  Our Discovery System search box facilitates searching across the library catalog, article databases, and e-book collections. To access databases from off-campus, simply log in with your UM username and password.


6. What if Carmichael Library doesn’t have what I need?

You can use our free interlibrary loan service to request any book or article you are unable to obtain locally.  Response time on most interlibrary loan requests is 2 to 6 days; it may take longer for books that are not widely available to come in.  First-time users can create an ILL account on the library webpage under “Services.” If you have questions, email UMILL@montevallo.edu.  As a UM faculty member, you can also visit and check out materials from UAB, Samford University, Birmingham-Southern College, Miles College, and Jefferson State Community College.

7. 
How does the book ordering process work at Montevallo?

Every department has a library liaison, and each academic discipline receives an acquisitions budget to fund library purchases of books and audio-visual materials. The Head of Technical Services coordinates with the liaisons to order library materials. A purchase recommendation form is available on the library website. New faculty should contact their Department Chair or Amanda Melcher (205-665-6104) to learn more about the process for ordering new library materials.

8. Can I put course materials on reserve in the library?

Absolutely! The library allows instructors to set aside articles, books, films, or sound recordings for 1 hour, 2 hours, overnight, or 3-day checkout. Instructors should bring or send the material they wish to place on reserve to the circulation desk.  The library also actively seeks donations of textbooks to place on reserve for student use. For more information, contact Kaycee Ledbetter at 205-665-6101 or circulation@montevallo.edu.

9. What kinds of classrooms and meeting rooms are in the library?
The library has a variety of instructional, collaborative, and meeting spaces:

EBSCO Room  Seats 25 (13); has student and instructor computers + projector
Mobile Classroom  Seats 30 (11); has mobile furniture and Chromebooks upon request
Computer Lab    Seats 18 (18); includes student computers (6 of which are Macs)
J.A. Brown Room  Seats 50 (12); has comfortable seating & technology upon request
Digital Media Lab  Seats 14 (6); has Mac computers, scanners, 3D print lab, sound lab
Pat Scales Special Collections Room Seats 50 (12); has 4 tables + 16 chairs; additional seating available
Large Group Study Room    Seats 10 (4); includes a large table, 10 chairs, flat screen monitor
Small Group Study Room  Seats 4 (1); includes a small table and 4 chairs 

NOTE: "Social distancing" room capacity is shown in (parentheses).
The ground floor and main floor of the library may also be reserved for special events.
Reservations can be placed from the library webpage or by contacting Beta Walker (205-665-6100).


10. Can you tell me about the University Archives?

Milner Archives and Special Collections holds materials related to the history of the University, from its beginnings as an industrial school for girls through its present status as Alabama's co-educational public liberal arts college. A number of archival collections have been digitized. Special collections include the Pat Scales research collection of children's and young adult literature and the W.M. "Mack" Wyatt Digital Archive of local area newspapers. University Archivist Carey Heatherly works closely with faculty and students to incorporate archival materials into classes.  He may be reached at heatherlycw@montevallo.edu or 205-665-6107.


11. What kind of digital media equipment and support does the library offer?

The Digital Media Lab offers UM students, faculty, and staff assistance in the use of digital media equipment, software, and editing.  The DML includes a Mac computer lab with Adobe Creative Cloud, Microsoft Office for Apple, iMovie, iPhoto, Image Capture, iTunes, and other appropriate software. Three 3D printers and a 3D scanner are available in the 3D Print Lab, and a Sound Lab provides a variety of equipment that allows students in all disciplines to produce, record, and edit audio and video commentary. Mike Price, Digital Media Librarian, is available for consultation and faculty support at mprice3@montevallo.edu or 205-665-6105. The library also has Chromebooks, iPads, video cameras, design tablets, and headphones available for use.
 

12. How can the library help with preparation and design of online classes?

The library has several hundred thousand electronic resources that can be used to add content to your online courses including eBooks, journal articles, and databases like Films on Demand, ArtSTOR, Digital Theatre +, JSTOR, and BioOne. These are searchable through our library website and are accessible for remote usage. All of these electronic resources easily integrate with Canvas via hyperlinks that connect directly to the source. For more information about how we can support remote learning, visit our Distance Education section of our website and the Library Resources for Instructional Continuity page, designed specifically for faculty. Additionally, our librarians can consult with faculty to find sources and the links needed to integrate them into online courses. Our contact information is available on the library website under About Us, Departments & Staff.

 

Please let us know how we may be of service to you and your students!