What is WorldCat Local?
WorldCat Local combines most of Carmichael's catalog with resources found in WorldCat. In a single, streamlined search experience you can explore the full breadth of resources available in-house and across the world. Once you identify the items you need, WorldCat Local integrates with Carmichael's catalog and ILL services allowing you access those resources quickly and easily.
Do we still have all the Databases?
All of the Databases are still available for searching. Expert searching within a specific discipline is best done by choosing the databases most appropriate for research in a discipline. Databases by Subject and Databases by Name still provide access to all databases. World Cat Local does not include all the databases Carmichael Library subscribes too.
What about the "old" Catalog? Is it still around?
The Catalog you are familiar with is still available to search. We are now calling it the Classic Catalog. When you search the Classic Catalog you are only searching what is in University of Montevallo Carmichael Library. As always, a search in the Classic Catalog does not include searching the Databases for articles.
Single-search Access: What is Included?
- Material owned by the University of Montevallo Carmichael Library, including books, journals, DVDs, musical scores, and more.
- Links to online resources to which the Carmichael Library provides access.
- Resources that are available from other libraries in Alabama.
- Resources in libraries around the world.
- Over 66 million citations for articles.
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Complete
- Academic One File
What can't I find in World Cat Local?
Some items owned by Carmichael Library including certain books in Special Collections and archival material will not show up in WorldCat Local. Remember to check the Classic Catalog and Digital Collections for additional materials.
My question isn't here, who should I contact about WorldCat Local?