Skip to Main Content

Anna Crawford Milner Archives and Special Collections

Presidents of the Alabama Girls' Industrial School (1896-1911), Alabama Girls' Technical Institute (1911-1923), Alabama College (1923-1969) and University of Montevallo (1969-present)

President Dates UM Presidential Papers
Henry Clay Reynolds 1896-1899 Reynolds Finding Aid
Dr. Francis Marion Peterson 1899-1907 Peterson Finding Aid
Dr. Thomas Waverly Palmer 1907-1926 Palmer Finding Aid
Dr. Oliver Cromwell Carmichael 1926-1935 Carmichael Finding Aid
Dr. Arthur Fort Harman 1935-1947 Harman Finding Aid
Dr. John Tyler Cardwell 1947-1952 Cardwell Finding Aid
Dr. Franze Edward Lund 1952-1957 Lund Finding Aid
Dr. Howard Mitchell Phillips 1957-1963 Phillips Finding Aid
Dr. Delos Poe Culp 1963-1968 Culp Finding Aid
Dr. Kermit Alonzo Johnson 1968-1977
Dr. James F. Vickrey, Jr. 1977-1988
Dr. John Walter Stewart 1988-1992
Dr. Robert Michael McChesney 1992-2006
Dr. Philip Carlton Williams 2006-2010
Dr. John Wesley Stewart 2010-present