HIST491 Senior Seminar

What evidence was created? 
Broad Categories to consider:

• The records and publications of governments
• The records and publications of organizations
• The papers of individuals
• Material culture -- buildings, artifacts, and art

What evidence was saved, and where?  

Think about who might have collected the material you're hoping to find:

• Published primary sources like newspapers, books, and government reports are likely to be held in libraries.
• Unpublished documents and administrative records produced by national government agencies are likely to be held in national archives; those produced by local administrations are likely to be held in municipal record offices or state archives.
• Materials produced by an organization or business will likely be held by that organization if it still exists; if it no longer exists, look for an affiliated organization or a library or archive that collects material on that topic.
• Personal papers, diaries, and materials related to local history are likely to be held in local libraries or historical societies.
• Museum, archives and libraries all have collections of art and artifacts as well as written records.

Some examples:

• The records of the U.S. federal government are held at the National Archives
• The records and historical artifacts of the state of Alabama are held in the Alabama Department of Archives and History 
• The personal papers of Harry Truman are held at the Harry S. Truman Library in Independence, Missouri.
• The records of the British East India Company are held at the British Library.
• The Samford University Special Collections serves as a repository for the Alabama Baptist State Convention. 

Guide adapted from Elizabeth Bennett, Librarian Emerita from Princeton University.