Faculty Recommendation
Art Spoke: a guide to modern ideas, movements and buzzwords, 1848-1944.
Print. Reference Collection N6447.A85 1993
Need Help? Ask Us!
We are happy to help you with your research! Chat with us using the blue chat box in the right corner of your screen. 💬 ↘️
- Email us
- Meet with us
- Call us: 205-665-6100
- Visit us: 1st Floor Research Help Desk
Best Bet
The Dictionary of Art (Print version)
Location: 1st floor Print Reference Collection N31 .D5 1996
Often referred to as 'Groves Dictionary of Art', it is the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia. Includes peer-reviewed articles from scholars all over the world.
Reference Ebooks
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art TermsAn accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, 2nd ed.Featuring 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts - from painting and sculpture to music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture by Call Number: N 5965 .G76 2012 (Reference Collection 1st Floor)ISBN: 0195395360Publication Date: 2012
- Oxford Companion to Western ArtThe Oxford Companion to Western Art, written by over 100 distinguished art historians and specialists, provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
The International Handbooks of Museum Studies The Art Collector's Handbook: a guide to collection
management and care
