Skip to main content

PSYC 306 2020: Databases & Journals

Journals in Lifespan Development

The ERIC Database and the PsycINFO database and PubMed database include citations and full text to scholarly journals  in Psychology and Human Development.  This list is not exhaustive but rather it is meant to identify a selection of the top scholarly journals you may come across in your research. 

  • Human Development
  • Early human development
  • Journal of human development
  • Research in human development
  • Developmental psychology
  • Journal of applied developmental psychology
  • Advances in applied developmental psychology
  • Essentials of developmental psychology
  • Growth
  • Mechanisms of ageing and development
  • Aging, neuropsychology, and cognition
  • Child development
  • Advances in child development and behavior
  • New directions for child development
  • Infant and child development
  • Review of child development research
  • Child psychiatry and human development

Children & Adolescence Databases

ERIC (EbscoHost)
The ERIC acronym stands for the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC).  ERIC indexes education research found in journal articles, books, and grey literature.

Across the Lifespan

PsycINFO
PsycINFO is a database of abstracts of literature in the field of psychology. It is produced by the American Psychological Association.  PsycINFO is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines — from the historical to the cutting edge.

PubMED
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally.

The PubMed database contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full-text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website