Finding background information
As you begin your research, you may want to gather some basic background information on your topics from reference sources available online or in print.
Use online reference sources
Use either of these resources, either to search across a set of reference books for background information on general concepts or specific terms or search within a specific e-book (see suggestions below).
Keywords for Latina/o Studies by "The keywords included in this collection represent established and emergent terms, categories, and concepts that undergird Latina/o studies..."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Offers "comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information" about Latinos in the U.S. (also available in print: Ref. E184.S75 O97 2005)
Hispanics in the United States by "Examines the transformations in the demographic, social, and economic structures of Latino-Americans in the United States between 1980 and 2005."
The Companion to Latin American Studies by "Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context."
Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the present) by "covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean...from the 20th century through the present day."
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by "original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture...in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns." (Also available in print: Ref. E184.A1 G14 2000)
Use print reference sources
The following books, found in the Reference section of the library, may provide useful background information
Encyclopedia Latina (4 vols.) by Call Number: Ref. E184.S75 E587 2005Encyclopedic coverage of Latinos in the US from 1492 to the 21st century.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (4 vols.) by Call Number: Ref. F1406 .E53 1996A comprehensive treatment of the history and culture of Latin America.
The Cambridge History of Latin America (12 vols) by Call Number: Ref. F1410 .C1834 1984Essays by the world's leading authorities on Latin American history.
Find statistics
The library's Statista database allows you to search for international, national, and state statistics on many topics, drawing on multiple sources. Try it out!
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic.
