CSD 502 Research in Speech-Language Pathology

The purpose of this guide is to reinforce your skills in locating and citing research articles in the field of Communication Sciences & Disorders.

If you are conducting formal research in CSD, you will need to locate articles as a part of your literature review. The review of the literature places research in context; it helps to provide both background information and a rationale for a research study.

Locating research articles is also an essential part of evidence-based practice, which is built on both the scientific literature (external evidence) and data and observations that you have collected (internal evidence).

Follow the tabs on the side for useful information!  All of the databases mentioned in this guide are available from the library home page, under Databases. If questions arise, please do not hesitate to contact a librarian in the UM Library.

PubMed and Google Scholar, two of the most comprehensive databases you can search for articles, are freely available to the public. However, not all of the articles in these database are freely available. By following these simple instructions, you can be sure to link to the articles that the UM Library provides full-text access to.

• PubMed: To ensure full-text access to UM's articles, be sure to use the link to PubMed on the library's Databases list. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to log in with your UM user ID and password. Watch this video to see how the full-text links will look.
   
• Google Scholar: If you are on campus, Google Scholar will recognize you as a UM student, faculty, or staff member and link you to articles that UM provides full-text access to. If you are off campus, you'll need to go through a one-time set-up process to activate Google Scholar's Library Links. Follow these instructions to set up your full-text access!